Caribbean Princess Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.1
from 62 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

62 User Reviews of Caribbean Princess Cruise Ship

Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 15, 2005
We just returned from a wonderful 7 day cruise on the Caribbean Princess.  The itinerary included Princess Cays, St. Thomas and St. Maarten. We traveled with 3 other couples, 2 of us flew from Buffalo, N.Y and the other couples who live in Florida met us on the ship. We arrived at the port after a short cab ride from the airport and even though the line was long, embarkation went pretty quickly.  If I could make one suggestion to everyone reading this, it would be to read the information you received from Princess and keep a folder with all your travel documents and have them ready.  Most of the delays we observed were due to passengers who are not prepared when they got to the counter. After finding our room and meeting our room steward (Elena from Romania) we proceeded to the welcome aboard buffet.  The buffet line is a little hard to manage at first because people are entering from both ends and of course since many of us haven’t eaten anything except the bag of pretzels on the plane, people are a little aggressive.  The buffet will never again be as crowded as you see it on the first day of the cruise. Our Impressions of the Ship: We reserved  balcony rooms on the Caribe deck, (our room was C735) toward the back of the ship.  The balconies on this deck are larger and more private than other decks.  We could actually look down on balconies below us.  We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, it was quite roomy with plenty of closet and storage space. The refrigerator conveniently held the 3 liter box of wine we had packed in our luggage.  I don’t think I need to mention the size of the bathroom since that has been covered in great detail in other reviews.  We knew what to expect so it wasn’t a problem unless you dropped the soap.  The bathroom is stocked with hotel size shampoo, conditioner and lotion from the Lotus Spa.  During the cruise, these were constantly restocked. It’s a little hard to navigate since all elevators do not go to all floors.  We suggest you carry your pocket guide and memorize which set of elevators you used to get to your restaurant.  This may mean walking past the closest elevator to your room and using the mid-ship elevators. We really enjoyed the adult pools and hot tubs.  We found the pool by the movie screen much too crowded and loud, but that is personal preference.  If you don’t like crowds, there are lots of quiet areas where you can relax and read a book or take a nap.  It would be hard to find a lounge chair around the MUTS pool, but no problem in other areas. We found the public areas tastefully decorated and very well kept.  The only evening the atrium seemed crowded was the formal night when the photographers were set up.  We liked the fact that they had several photographers and backgrounds so that the lines weren’t so long.  This was actually the first time we had our picture taken because of the lines we encountered on previous cruises. Our room was in the aft section and even though we didn’t seem to encounter any stormy weather, we felt the motion of the ship quite a bit on this cruise.  Even in other parts of the ship it was noticeable.  Our group is not prone to seasickness so it didn’t really bother us, just something to note. Because of our dinner time and the fact that most of the movies and shows on the MUTS screen weren’t of great interest to us, we didn’t go down in the evening.  We did, however watch the football games on Sunday.  The screen is awesome and I would try to do that on a future cruise. Our Impressions of the Dining: We ate breakfast and lunch in the Horizon Court/Café Caribe daily.  There was a large variety and we enjoyed most of our choices.  The food was not very hot though, and there could have been a few more drink stations available. We ate dinner in the Caribe Café the first night (seafood extravaganza) and the crab legs were actually frozen.  The water from the drink stations is filtered and tastes just fine, you really don’t need to purchase the bottled water they are trying to sell.  We also tried the pizza and the grill items and we liked them.  The challenge is to find a table once you have your pizza, or hot dog or burger.  Seating is really at a premium in this area. The remainder of the cruise we ate dinner in the Palm Dining room.  We had signed up for anytime dining, but after our first night, we arranged a standing reservation for our group of 8 for the remaining nights.  Even though the head waiter couldn’t give us a 7:30 reservation (he put us down for 8:00) he said if we arrived at 7:30 he would “try” to get us in. Our table, with our waitress, Oana, from Romania was ready for us each night after the first.  The head waiter did not even walk us to the table after the second night, just nodded and waived us through.  We all enjoyed the food in the dining room and there were lots of choices.  Oana would offer to bring another choice from the menu if you were anything less than enthusiastic about your meal.  One person in our party mentioned crème brulee, which we had early in the cruise and she quickly summoned the chef who arranged to have it ready for us the next evening. The only negative I have to say about the meals is that they were never hot. I have nothing but good to say about the service we received and we all left a little “extra” with Oana on our last night. Our impressions of the Ports: Our itinerary was changed so that we went to Princess Cays first.  We weren’t in a hurry to leave the ship so we had to walk a bit down the beach to find an open lounge.  There is plenty of seating and trees and grass tiki huts for shade.  We’re actually glad we didn’t spend money to reserve a cabana, we didn’t need it.  We didn’t eat the barbecue but it looked and smelled good.  When you are leaving the ship, workers will be trying to sell bottled water, implying that there is none on the beach.  This is not true.  There are water containers all over the place and it’s the same water you drink on the ship.  One couple reserved the floats with the hole for your face and were disappointed.  They were quite heavy, and way too much work.  Otherwise, a nice relaxing day at the beach. St. Thomas – we reserved a parasail adventure through Shoretrips.com and loved it.  We also bought tickets on the Skyride and didn’t think it was worth $15.  Another couple booked a trip to Magan’s Bay through Princess and said it was the best beach they have ever seen and not to be missed.  Our last couple did the “Bob” adventure and had a great time.  We’ll have to go again so we can do the things we missed this time around. In the future I’ll probably hop in one of the numerous taxis available as you exit the ship. You are in port all day, so there is plenty of time to go almost anywhere and be back to the ship in time. St. Maarten – This was the only place where we all booked the same tour and it turned into a disaster.  We booked the “Under two Flags” bus tour through Princess.  The tour highlights the Dutch and the French sides of the Island with a stop (45 minutes) on the French side.  The short stop didn’t give you much time to do anything except have a drink at one of the numerous cafes.  We all headed back to the bus and after traveling about 2 blocks, our bus driver jumped out of the bus, closed the doors and got in a taxi heading the opposite way.  Needless to say, passengers started to panic and a few folks went to the front of the bus to get the doors opened.  Once the doors were opened some people tried to get police assistance through one of the vendors at a souvenir stand.  After about 15 minutes, our bus driver arrives back at the bus and without explanation, and after letting the passengers back on the bus, he continues the tour.  He did at one point apologize for the “minor inconvenience.”  I’m still not sure exactly what happened but after numerous complaints at the tour desk, all money was refunded.  I cannot even imagine what the driver was thinking because I am sure the drivers depend on tips and obviously he didn’t get any that day.  Perhaps this experience ruined our perception, but we didn’t see too much on this Island that would call us back. General Impressions: We loved this cruise.  You can do as little or as much as you want to do.  We only attended one show, Piano Man, and I wasn’t that impressed.  We did enjoy Bert Stratton and stopped to listen a few nights.  We won a little money at the roulette table, so we liked the casino, but even though you can’t see the smoke, you can smell it as soon as you walk in.  We didn’t encounter problems with smoke anywhere else on the ship.  The no smoking signs seemed to be well observed.  We liked the easy listening music in the Wheelhouse Bar and our waiter was fun.  Our room was immaculate and the beds were very comfortable.  We encountered only good service, and everyone was friendly and happy to help.  We had the gratuities added to our shipboard account and gave some extra to our room steward, our waitress and our “wine guy”.  I would definitely recommend this cruise.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: October 1, 2005

I recently went on a cruise on the Caribbean Princess. This was my second voyage with Princess, the first being on the Diamond Princess.

I took advantage of the Lotus Spa on the Caribbean Princess, getting a massage, and it was Ok. However; after the massage, the therapist went off on a high pressure sales tactic to sell me nearly $300.00 worth of products I would never use. I did not buy them and after telling the therapist "no", she began haggling with me and I finally had to get up and get out of there. I was half naked on the little treatment table they put you on and this therapist was sales-pitching me some cleansing pills. She spoiled the whole experience and I even cancelled the second appointment I made prior to the cruise.

Also beware in the Lotus Spa, if they cannot fill your appointment time if you cancel, they will charge you a 50% cancellation fee. Fortunately for me they did fill my spot I cancelled for the second treatment and I was not charged a cancellation fee. If they had I would have taken it up with Passenger

Services and would refuse to pay it.

I found the therapists in the Lotus Spa condescending and rude; first when I wouldn't buy the products and second when I cancelled the second appointment. I would advise potential passengers that if the therapists in the Lotus Spa get rude with you, get rude right back and threaten to cause trouble. They certainly don't want that.

On my review sheet given at the end of the cruise by Princess, I rated the Lotus Spa a poor rating because of their high pressure sales tactics and their attitude.

Other than that, the cruise was a delight and the Caribbean Princess was a great ship. I will sail on her again.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: September 24, 2005

My wife and I decided to check out the best suite Princess has to offer and booked a Grand Suite on one of the newer Princess Mega Ships, the Caribbean Princess. We are Celebrity regulars and just wanted to see if Princess would meet our stringent requirements. We booked a 7 day cruise from Fort Lauderdale to Princess Cays, Grand Cayman, Jamaica, Cozumel and back to Fl.

We booked the Grand Suite which is the equivalent of the Penthouse Suite on Celebrity. There is only one Grand Suite on the Caribbean Princess so I could not be choosey as to the date I wanted to sail therefore we had to book according to the availability of the Grand Suite and of course it was available during peak hurricane season, September 24 to October 1st.

We left our home at 10 am on Saturday for our journey to FLL via our truck loaded with luggage. We used the Park and Fly lot which is about $8.00 a day and includes a free shuttle to and fro the port. I used it on our last cruise and it worked out just perfectly for

us. We dropped our luggage off with the dock porters and proceeded into a very busy terminal. We waited in the main line to go through security for about 15 minutes and then I proceeded to the Suite and Elite member line. I waited about 10 minutes in this line and when I got up to window the Princess Rep asked for my tickets, etc and when he say my name he summoned someone from the ship who was there in 30 seconds grabbing our carry-on luggage and whisking up onto the ship avoiding any more lines that day. He escorted us to the Grand Suite. I thought that was a very nice touch and I get the same service on Celebrity so we are even with service at this point. In the Grand Suite were 2 bottles of Champagne. I was surprised to see a bottle of Moet and Chandon which is expensive champagne and exactly what Celebrity placed in my room in May 05.

The Suite was very clean, new furniture and over-all very pleasing to the eye. It seemed half the size of the Millennium PS but I would guess the total square footage was around 1,100 sq feet versus 1,450 on the Millie. The furniture was nicer and newer on the Princess and the PC-work area had free internet access which the Celebrity did not so this was a real plus to me. On the Millennium one can spend a lot of money at $.80 a minute accessing email and the internet.

The price for the Grand Suite was on par with the Celebrity Penthouse or maybe a tad cheaper. The complimentary “minature” liquor bar included 2 bottles of cognac, 2 bottles of gin , 2 bottles of volka and 2 bottles of Canadian Club. The brands were mid range and really not what I drink. On Celebrity you get top shelve liquor and you get litres and they provided me as much liquor and mixers and soda as we wanted. On Princess I was told this is it. In the small fridge I got a few bottles of Perrier, 2 small water bottles and 2 cans of diet coke, regular coke and tonic water. They were not going to be refilled without a charge. On Celebrity there are unlimited beverages in the Penthouse Suite. I asked about the big bottle of water on the counter and I was told it’s $3.50 per bottle even for the Grand Suite. I mentioned to the Room Stewardess that I thought charging me for water in the Grand Suite was a bit barbaric and she said one bottle would be on the house. I kept getting reminded that this wasn’t Celebrity and Carnival runs a tighter budget. Considering my wife drinks 5 or 6 cans of diet coke a day I knew this could be an expensive trip. Luckily I carried on 48 cans for the trip and used the mini fridge to keep them cool. We would do the unlimited sodas for the week but I didn’t want to run to a bar every few hours to get a small glass of diet coke so I am glad I brought the soda onboard. I had no hassles bringing the sodas or 4 bottles of alcohol in my carryon luggage. In fact, when in Cozumel I bought 4 bottles of Patron Tequila and 4 litres of Grand Marnier and when putting the boxes through security I said, its water and the Security Agent said, sure, Mexican Water but she let me take the booze to the room which I thought was nice. If you want a great margarita, try Patron Tequila and half as much grand marnier with margarita mix, a great drink.

There are no Butlers on Princess so everything you want in your room goes through Room Service which was an inconvenience to us. On Celebrity I never had to call and wait on the phone to order food and wait 20 minutes. The head of room service was a very nice gentleman and visited me on several occasions and said he would do whatever it took to make me happy and satisfied. I ordered special lunches everyday not on the menu which the main chefs prepared for me, ie, Indian food, Phillipino, Italian, Mexican. The Maitre’D would coordinate my lunch through the Chef and room service and my dining room waiter would deliver it to my room on a large cart. It turned out to be very elegant and we enjoyed our lunches. The Grand Suite dining room table was pre set by my waiter and the presentation of the food in the suite for lunch was nicer than the “Butler” lunch service on Celebrity.

The room stewardess assigned to the Grand Suite was Mary from the Philippines and she was very good at her job. She acted as our quasi-Butler trying to accommodate all our needs. She was tipped accordingly since I really appreciated her excellent service. I have never had a Room Steward or Stewardess on Celebrity that bested the professionalism of Mary so I think Princess scored well in assigning the Grand Suite the top of the line personnel. I have had Butlers on Celebrity that bested the stewardess service.

The balcony on the Grand Suite was long and narrow and about 200 sq feet without a hot tub or wet bar. Nothing will ever compare to the balconies on the M class ships, 1,400 sq feet with wet bar and hot tubs so I was let down by the size of the Grand Suite’s balcony. There were people above the balcony and when we left ports I had confetti all over my balcony. I also had at least 10 cigarette butts on the balcony from inconsiderate folks throwing them overboard in the wind. When we left Fort Lauderdale people were throwing ice overboard and some would comeback and hit us in the head. I think Princess should do something about people throwing things overboard. On the Millennium nothing every was thrown onto our balcony.

Also not having a second bathroom in the best suite on the ship was a big let down since all the Celebrity Penthouse Suites have at least an extra half bath (C class ships) or a full shower bath (M class). On Celebrity its great that they have at least that half bath or more. There are times when one bath is tied up and its tough waiting for 5 or more minutes.

The ports of call on this western Caribbean cruise we have been to numerous times and once you have seen them a few times it gets boring to get off the ship. We don’t cruise to go sightseeing in the Caribbean, we cruise just to get away and get pampered. We never made it to a show on the ship so I cant comment on the shows.

We went to The Steakhouse restaurant once on the ship and had a great meal and to Sabatini’s once and had a great meal. As good as these meals were they did not compare as far as treatment and food quality to the Olympic Restaurant on the Millie. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed both Princess specialty restaurants but they just were no where as elegant as the M class Ships specialty restaurants. The waiters did a great job in both restaurants and were tipped well, over and above the surcharge. The waiters and Maitre D, in my opinion were not the same caliber as the personnel in the Olympic. The food was not cooked at the table, there was no cheese cart and the desserts did not compare. The desserts in both Sabatini’s and the Steak House were identical to the main dining room desserts.

The Captain did invite me to dinner on the first formal night and we sat at my assigned table. He invited another couple to join us which worked out fine. We were invited to the bridge twice and the Captain Romano was most cordial to us. (see pics of us on the bridge and at dinner). I never was invited to his personal quarters for tea or breakfast (as I was on the Millennium) or was I allowed to tour the engine room after asking a few times. The Hotel Director called the Passenger Services Director on Princess visited my room on the first day and we chatted but that was it. On Celebrity I developed a friendship with the hotel director Renato and saw him most days while cruising.

We realized after this cruise that 7 day cruises are not for us. We don’t want to bother with all the packing and driving for seven days so in the future we will book 10 plus day cruises.

The food in the main dining room was very good and on par with Celebrity. I found no problems with any of the food and the desserts were great too. The afternoon tea was great and we went almost everyday.

In summary we had an excellent time on the Caribbean Princess and I would consider going on a longer cruise on Princess in the Grand Suite in the future. It wasn’t as good as the Millennium experience considering the prices are almost on par. It’s getting impossible to book a PS on an M class ship these days since they are so popular but my next cruise will be on Celebrity.

Princess uses the automatic tipping so I had no choice, I used envelopes at the end to reward those outstanding personnel that made a difference in our cruise but I didn’t tip as much as I would have on Celebrity for some reason. I guess I wasn’t as motivated as I usually am.

Pictures of this cruise, bridge tour, captains dinner and the Grand Suite are on my website, just click below or cut and paste:

http://community.webshots.com/user/irwind101

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: September 17, 2005

Well, I can't say a lot of good things about Carib Princess. One thing I can say the Carib Deck balconies was delightful. It was about 9x9 feet in size. However, the cigar smoke made it difficult to enjoy. The cabin decor looks as if the designer took duplicated the "love boat" TV series of 1980s. The cruise director and sidekick were lame and torture to watch. Most of shows lacked talent. I've seen better at my daughter's school. The dining room experience was awful each time.

We started to eat buffet Carib Cafe. No one said that this ship was a retirement ship. Most of the passengers were white and 50+. The food was bland and breakfast was ok. I enjoyed the ports but beware of sightseeing scam in Grand Cayman. We should have remain at the beach. Coz & Ocho was very nice. Oh yeah we saw the Carnival ship way over in the harbor we wanted to jump off and sto on their ship. We said we would do any thing to get off this ship. This ship is boring to the 10th power. Princess cays a

joke as well.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: August 20, 2005

The really good stuff:

- Embarcation was a breeze, since we had pre-registered on-line. We were aboard in 20 mm! Amen. - The cabins are spacious and well-conceived, with a dressing area next to the showers. The showers are not water-saving and feel great! - The food is excellent, the cruise director was dignified, the dining room staff attentive and professionnal. - The tenders at Princess Cays in the Bahamas are fast and take you ashore in no time. - Excellent open buffet on top deck every night, if you did not want to go to the dining room. Tables are covered with linen, VERY NICE.

The so-so stuff:

- No trays in the Horizon Cafe. You got to juggle your plates, go back for more stuff, then go back for drinks/coffee. Staff does not help, does not pour coffee, as was the case on our many Celebrity cruises. - Not enough tables in Horizon Cafe. Every morning for breakfast we had to hunt, and hunt, and hunt down a table, often cleaning up because the staff was busy elsewhere. A major hassle. - The ice machines in the Horizon Cafe did

not work most of the time. Major hassle. - They charge for ice-cream on the pool deck. I was stunned they would nickle and dime passagers that way. That sucked. - They charge for watery, lukewarm hot chocolate at breakfast. Next time I'll bring my own. - They don't have good tea, only Lipton. Bring your own Bigelow for some decent Earl Grey. - Shows were so-so. Comedian/juggler. Another Comedian/Magician and another comedian couple.... I missed the Celebrity Shows, which were more diverse. One of the comedian was very off-color. Is is really necessary to say the "F" word in front of kids? Did that make him funnier??? NOOOOOO. - Water at Princess Cays was murky. Too many people I suppose. If you want nice clear water and snorkeling, you have to walk away from the crowd, down the beach. It's a coral beach meaning put water shoes on your kids, or their feet may suffer cuts, as was the case in my family. We ended up walking away to a spot that had enough sand for the kids to enjoy a swim, pretty far from the tenders area. - We had requested early seating, but we booked the cruise late and there was no space. We solved the problem by showing up in one of the freestyle dining room the first night at 6 p.m. sharp, and telling the Maitre d' that we'd take the same table every night at the same time. He OK it and we did fine. Some people who did not make these arrangements had to wait for tables, and were very sore about that. - The mini-golf is useless. Poorly conceived and built, it's impossible to play. Go figure! - Wish there were more ping-pong tables, for the days at sea. It was always busy! - I wish the Adult pool spa was sea water, not regular water. Sea water is so therapeutic, it's a shame not to be able to soak your tired bones in hot sea water. I'll go back to Celebrity for their sea water jaccuzis, because I always feel 5 years younger by the end of the cruise. - There was no showcase midnight buffet on the last day. Instead, they built a pyramid of glasses that they filled with really cheap champagne. All along ladies were invited to have their picture taken (another way for the ship to make money). The champagne was so bad we took a sip and surrendered the glass immediately to a waiter.

OK, overall, it was a good value, a good cruise on a very nice ship. I would recommend it to friends, with the above warnings.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: August 6, 2005

On Saturday, our family of six - myself, husband, three daughters and a daughter's boyfriend - arrived at Port Everglades in Ft. Lauderdale about 10:45 a.m. There was only a short line, but half an hour later the line grew very long. I was glad to be near the front. We stood in the shade and so did not mind standing. After filling out the health form, we proceeded to the area for our deck, filled out the paperwork, got our ID cards, and off we went to our cabins, a very efficient and painless process.

We had two balcony cabins and one inside on Caribe deck. The showers were not as cramped as I thought they would be; with a little creative maneuvering they were perfectly sufficient. The balcony was double the size of those above and below us, which was nice when the girls wanted to escape their inside cabin and join us outside. Our cabin stewards were friendly and helpful, and our cabin was decorated with balloons for our anniversary. We had lunch in Horizon Court. Like any buffet, there were great and not-so-great food items, but we

found plenty of good food to choose from.

As recommended by others, we reserved our "Movies Under the Stars" (MUTS) and made a standing reservation for Personal Choice dining from our cabin when boarding. The specialty restaurants Sterlings and Sabatinis had to be reserved through Sabatinis in person after 1 p.m. TIP: Confirm your movie the day it's scheduled; the ship's newsletter had our movie listed on a day other than the one I was told over the phone.

Our family chose to meet at the Palm dining room with a standing reservation at 6 p.m. each day for dinner. TIP: If you call the first day to make a standing reservation and decide you want the same waiter and table, call the second day and reserve it. We neglected to do this and did not get the same waiter or table the second night. Our waiter, Carlos, was absolutely outstanding. The fact that my husband and he shared the same last name was an icebreaker. We've never had better service, and even when the dining room was at its busiest, his smile and friendliness never wavered. He brought a cake for our anniversary, too.

Sunday - Sea Day

We awoke this morning to more balloons on our door for my husband's birthday. Our steward said Happy Birthday, and this was apparently by mention through the cruise personalizer, as we did not tell him in person we were celebrating a birthday. We are early birds, so most mornings we were at the gym on the treadmills at 6 a.m. There was no shortage of equipment.

We found plenty of food we liked at Horizon Court for breakfast, and the coffee was perfectly fine. We grabbed a chair by the pool in the morning, in the shade, and spent a couple of hours there. Husband had enough of the pool after about an hour and went to the casino. We spent some time at the auction in the afternoon, which was fun (but I enjoyed the auction on Carnival better, because they had more affordable pieces).

Tonight was formal night. TIP: Give yourself plenty of time for photos before dinner, as the lines for the photographer get pretty long; or wait until after dinner for photos. Tonight I experienced the only item on the week's menus that was a disappointment - the beef tenderloin was dry and overdone. On the recommendation of the waiter (the only night we did not have our favorite waiter, Carlos), I ordered it medium-well, but it came out well done. Of course, I could have sent it back, but there was so much other food on my plate, it was not a big issue. Feel free to order 2 entrees if you cannot make up your mind. David's Cornish Hen was perfect.

We caught the 10 p.m. show on MUTS - "Hitch," a very nice experience. They serve popcorn, but you can also bring food from the Horizon Court or pizza.

Monday - Sea Day

The best pools for peace and quiet, away from all the distractions, are the aft pool and the pool forward near the spa, both adults-only. This morning I had my choice of chairs at the spa pool, where there were plenty of ocean breezes. Morning is the best time to find a chair at any pool; they get very crowded in the afternoon on sea days.

We won a piece of art at the auction today!

Heads up - dining menu change! Monday's and Tuesday's menus were switched. Monday turned out to be Caribbean night, and Tuesday was Italian night. We had chosen Tuesday as our alternative dining choosing to miss the Caribbean menu. So we were a little sad we missed Italian night. We quickly got over it, though, as the pork loin I had was outstanding.

The big show tonight, Caribbean Caliente, was canceled due to a technical problem. They substituted Alexander the hypnotist. I love this show. My husband volunteered to go up on stage during his show three years ago on the Grand, so it brought back memories. It's a riot what people will do while under hypnotic suggestion.

The highlight of our cruise came Monday night, when our youngest daughter entered the Princess Teen Idol contest and won second place. Not too brag, but unlike the other contestants, she sang from memory and not with the karaoke lyrics on the screen. We were so proud of her!

Tuesday - St. Thomas

Our oldest daughter and her boyfriend did the Princess Sail & Snorkel Buck Island excursion and had a blast. The rest of us did a tour with Sunny Liston, which I reserved ahead of time. He met us at the pier with a sign showing our name at 10 a.m., dropped us off for some shopping, then took us on a tour of the island and to Mountain Top. The views were spectacular. The world-famous daiquiri there was overrated and overpriced, and gave me a headache. After the tour (a roller-coaster ride through steep and narrow winding roads), he dropped us at Sapphire Beach, where we snorkeled and swam. He picked us up at 3:30 and took us back to the ship. Sunny was fun, pleasant and friendly. He gave us a fantastic tour and it was well worth the $20 per person.

Tonight was our alternative dining experience. Our daughter and her boyfriend loved Sabatinis, and noted that there is so much food, you shouldn't expect to try it all. My husband and I chose to eat at Sterlings. The food was excellent, the steaks superb, but service was slow. Also, we were not impressed with the restaurant décor.

Unfortunately, we crashed after dinner and missed the Tropical Deck Party.

Wednesday - St. Martin

We arranged for a car rental through "Arthur," recommended on these boards. However, neither Arthur nor his rental station was anywhere to be found, so we chose Best Deal rentals, which also comes highly recommended. For $70, we got a Mitsubishi Space Wagon, a great car for the six of us. Unlike the steep, winding hills on St. Thomas, the roads here were easy to navigate. We drove to Bayside Stables where three of us went on a horseback ride. What a magnificent way to see the beach. They took us for a ride through the nature reserve at LeGalione Beach and down the beach itself. It was breathtaking! After our ride, we went to Orient Beach, which was beautiful and a bit more crowded than Sapphire on St. Thomas yesterday. We went for a quick swim, bought ice cream, then headed back to Phillipsburg for a little shopping and a bite to eat. By this time, we had enough of the heat and headed back to the ship early to mid-afternoon.

Dinner tonight was outstanding, as usual. David had the lamb and I had the prawns. Carlos must have known I did not like a lot of garlic; he steered me away from the pasta pesto dish and brought me a small plate on the side, which was quite good and not too spicy. He always brought our youngest daughter extra shrimp in her appetizer and left us with extra plates of entrees so we could all sample everything.

The girls went to the game room to play Uno after dinner. Interestingly, they reported back that all the Uno cards were missing from every game. It's sad to think that people would steal them - if that was the case. Tonight we used our coupon for two free candids and picked up a couple of photos from the gallery. The photographers have been visible, but not intrusive, which is the way we like it.

Tonight we saw the infamous Bert Stratton in Concert in the Explorers Lounge, which is a bigger venue than his usual performances. He is a terrific entertainer and as others have said, looks a bit like Jim Carey.

Thursday - Sea Day

After our 6 a.m. workout and breakfast, it was another day of relaxation by the aft pool. I got a chair overlooking the stern. The pool is in the shade back here, a great spot to be out of the blazing sun. Everyone went off and did their own things today. David was back at the auction and won yet another piece of art, by the same artist as the previous one, so they will go well together on the wall.

Tonight was the second formal night. We skipped the photos and went straight to the dining room. Tonight's menu featured lobster tails, which were superb. The desserts are pretty great, so be sure to save a bit of room. No matter how full we were, we managed to cram in a soufflé, ice cream, parfait, mousse or that fabulous Love Boat Dream.

We saw Piano Man tonight and were not all that impressed. It was entertaining, but the choreography and vocals were just okay, nothing spectacular.

Friday - Princess Cays

We had so much heat and sun already this week, so we were undecided about how much time we wanted to spend here. We went ashore about mid-morning and snorkeled and we were glad we did. The snorkeling was good and the water beautiful. We were able to get a spot in the shade of a palm tree. TIP: Be on the first or second tender to get your choice of shaded chairs as they go fast. It was a perfect beach day. After returning to the ship, it was time to pack up, as the luggage needed to be out in the hall after dinner for pick-up.

We had our final meal in the dining room this evening. We said our goodbyes to Carlos and nominated him for Princess employee of the month. After dinner we made our last purchases of photos and took a walk up on Sun deck by the spa. Nothing beats the sight of a bright moon shining over the ocean.

Saturday, Disembarkation

We woke up before sun-up and saw the lights of Ft. Lauderdale in the distance, and felt sad having to leave all this behind. We went for breakfast, finished collecting our belongings from the cabins, and headed to the Explorers Lounge where we found comfortable seats to await disembarkation. TIP: Get out of your cabin early to grab a comfortable chair to await embarkation in one of the ship's lounges. We found embarkation to be very smooth. Announcements are made according to the color tag on your luggage. Exiting the ship was quick and painless, and we found our luggage with little problem. The bright colored duct tape on our luggage helped a lot.

We were very fortunate to have fabulous weather the entire week. It was a great way to reconnect with the family and spend quality time together. We can't wait to start planning our next cruise.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: July 22, 2005

Princess Cruises Caribbean Princess by Doug Roberts Eastern Caribbean July 22, 2005

Embarkation We stayed at the Sleep Inn in Dania, Florida the night before the cruise. We highly recommend them and they pick up at the airport and drop off at Port Everglades free of charge.

Embarkation was smooth and took about a half hour when we arrived at 11:30 am. After a short wait in line, we were ushered into a waiting room and issued a number. When the number was called we proceeded through security and check-in. The check-in lines were arranged by deck. If you have express check-in, the Princess representative checks your ID, collects the relevant documents, scans your credit card and you are ready to pose for the obligatory boarding photo and then board the ship. A pleasant surprise was that our cabins were ready for occupancy upon boarding.

The Ship The Caribbean Princess is huge at 116,000 tons and 19 decks. It is relatively new, having been commissioned in 2004. The central focus is on decks 5 through 7 which contain a nice atrium, most of the entertainment venues, restaurants, shops, casino, lounges, theater, photo gallery

and the purser's desk. Decks 15 through 17 contain most of the pools, hot tubs, gym, sports and recreation facilities. The adult pool in the aft is on Deck 14. The children's facilities are located on Deck 18 and the spectacular Skywalker's Night Club is on Deck 19. One oddity of the ship's design is the Palm Dining Room which is accessible from the aft staircase and elevators only. If you have anytime dining this is a "best kept secret" as the wait times tend to be less than for the Coral Dining Room which is on Deck 7 adjacent to the shops and main elevators. Although with a capacity of 3,114 passengers and 1,200 crew members, never once did we feel crowded, except perhaps in the photo gallery, which even occurred on the Celebrity Zenith, which is much smaller.

Our Cabin Our cabin was an inside cabin on the Aloha Deck exactly at the center of the ship. The cabin was more than adequate to suit our needs and was well designed and laid out. The cabin attendant, who never introduced himself, was attentive and greeted us by name. There was no closet as in previous cabins, but there was a dressing area between the bath and the sleeping area which has very adequate space for hanging clothing, a small cupboard which also contains the safe. The dressing area also contains more than adequate space for storing suitcases. The television has CNN, TNT, Headline News, ESPN, movies, classic television shows and several channels dedicated to ship activities. Beware of the shopping lady, it became a running joke that she was on every channel as the TV automatically turned to that channel when you turned it on. Watching her too much can lead to an overdose of "perky." I would also take their shopping recommendations with a grain of salt as we have found better prices at other establishments in some, but not all cases.

Food Service Food was excellent both well prepared and presented with style in the dining room. Every evening there was a choice of four entrees, soups and appetizers. There are also four alternative always available appetizers and entrees as well as a light "spa" selection and a vegetarian selection. The Horizon Court Buffet is available 24 hours a day with fairly standard buffet fare. Twice during the lunch hour sushi was featured, with a good variety presented. We chose breakfast at the Horizon Court because of the greater variety available over the sit-down restaurant. Decent burgers, including turkey and veggie burgers are available adjacent to the pool on Deck 15 as well as very good thin crust pizza with margharita, pepperoni and a special of the day. We did not choose to eat at either Sabatini's or Sterling's Steakhouse. Afternoon high tea is served in the Coral Dining room on Deck 7 and is good fun. The buffet served on Princess Cays was good featuring burgers, ribs and chicken. But no cheese for the burgers? They also had lots of fruit and salad items available at Princess Cays.

Entertainment and Activities The Caribbean Princess offers a variety of entertainment in a variety of venues throughout the ship. The main theater offered production shows as well as the employee's talent show which was not only entertaining, but great fun. Three very good comedic acts were featured both in the theater and at the Explorers Lounge. Bert Stratton, who receives great acclaim on Cruisemates among some members, is not everyone's cup of tea. While he is very talented, we found a little bit of his act goes a long way. After a while his seeming inability to finish a song wears thin. He was featured in the very tiny Crooner's Lounge on Deck 7 and once in concert in the much larger Explorers Lounge.

The Caribbean Princess offers a great variety of activities and entertainment for all tastes, unless your tastes run to relaxing inactivity which they have well covered also. We participated in the ballroom dancing classes and I was proclaimed by Jason, the Assistant Cruise Director, to be "the Train Wreck in the Hawaiian Shirt." I preferred to call my dancing style "Oaf Dancing." We found the Newlywed Game to be predictably hilarious. The Cruise Director's staff does their utmost to ensure that the passengers have fun. There is a fairly large casino on Deck 7 which also seems fairly empty at most times. The casino offers the requisite variety of table games and slots from 5 cents to a dollar. For some reason, the poker craze has not caught up with Princess. Bingo is also conducted daily as well as the ever popular horse racing game. Movies Under the Stars (MUTS) is at once both a great entertainment innovation with the 300 square foot screen visible even during the daylight and great stereo sound, as well as an intrusive curse for those seeking peace and quiet by the pools as the movies and concerts blare forth all day. There are plenty of places to sun and enjoy the pools and hot tubs out of earshot. While we had no such in tow, the children and teen programs seemed well organized and well liked by the participants.

The Ports The Eastern Caribbean itinerary is not particularly port-intensive for a seven day cruise visiting but two ports, St. Thomas, USVI and St Maarten/St Martin. Additionally, there is a beach day stop at Princess Cays in the Bahamas. The cruise commences with a very leisurely two days at sea with a third sea day between St Maarten/St. Martin and Princess Cays.

St Thomas On St. Thomas we chose Princess' "Ultimate St. Thomas Tour" excursion as it gave a good overview of the island as well as beach time at Magen's Bay. We found the beach at Magen's Bay to be beautiful and delightful for swimming. Showers and changing rooms are available at Magen's Bay. The tour terminated at Blackbeard's Castle with return to the ship on your own. After a leisurely decent down the 99 steps into Charlotte Amalie, we shopped until we dropped. My wife particularly liked and recommends Mr. Tablecloth which offered substantial savings on beautifully crafted table linens. The cab from downtown to Havensight where the ship docked was $4. Havensight also has much of the same shopping available in town.

St Maarten/St Martin On St Maarten/St Martin we opted for the semi-submersible underwater tour with an island tour. The tour, which included a shopping stop in Marigot on the French side, featured a ride on a semi-submersible boat, which features underwater viewing on the lower deck. Once at the reef after departure from Grand Case, a diver attracted fish using sardines in tomato sauce as bait. Once done with the semi-submersible, we continued on the circuit around the island with an obligatory souvenir stop adjacent to Orient Beach and continued on back to the Dutch side where we had the option to terminate the tour in downtown Phillipsburg or go back to the ship. Since it was early, we opted to shop downtown and take the water taxi ($5) back to the dock area. Liquor by the bottle can be purchased at very cheap prices. We tasted the local Guavaberry Liqueur and decided it to be a "must".

Princess Cays Princess Cays is a wonderful beach day to relax and enjoy the water. Various water sports are available and there are plenty of places to lounge and relax. The lunch buffet was well prepared except for the previously mentioned lack of cheese for the burgers.

Debarkation Debarkation required us to vacate our cabins and assemble in public rooms and wait, unlike Celebrity. We grabbed seats in the Crooner's Lounge which along with the Explorer's lounge are closest to the stairwell through which we would disembark. Once called, we passed through immigration and then joined the scrum for our luggage which took about 10 minutes to locate all four bags. We then engaged a porter to speed us through customs. This is not a good time to try to save money as you will wait in line much longer if you decide to tote your own bags. We had opted for Princess transfers back to the Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport and we were quickly ushered to the waiting bus which departed as soon as it was filled (about 10 minute wait).

Conclusion We had a wonderful time and plan to sail again on Princess. I would recommend this cruise for just about any age as only the true curmudgeons or terminally jaded could fail to have a good time.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: June 4, 2005

After a lovely voyage on The CARIBBEAN PRINCESS I was highly pleased with all aspects of the ship. The service was great,condition of the ship was excellent.

I saw very little smokers onboard and had no problem at all with 2nd hand smoke either from the balconys or in public areas.. All in all the food was good..dining rooms had fine food...the Bistros were good......but could stand better heat lamps....breakfast buffet was usually on the cool side.

I booked a balconey cabin and was happy I did....was like an extra room.Our steward was very professional and deserved the extra tip above what Princess allocates daily from customers accounts.

Read More
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: May 14, 2005

Princess Cruises Caribbean Princess by Carol Eastern Caribbean May 14, 2005 We had the pleasure to cruise On the Caribbean Princess May 14th, 2005. We were married at home on May 12t. We  flew to Ft. Lauderdale one day pre-cruise. I have cruised 5 times previously with Carnival and this was my husbands 1st. cruise. We are both in our early 40's. Embarkation took exactly one hour, we arrived at the ship at 11:00. This was a very smooth process. Now about the ship: The ship is Beautiful. The service was Great. The Food was Great. The entertainment in the lounges was great.

The staff seemed to be mainly Romanian and Phillipino. They worked very hard to please and serve us. I always liked Carnival and would not hesitate to sail with them again. The reason we will sail again with Princess is the anytime dining. We loved it. We had a reservation everynight at 7:00 with the same server at the same table. We had excellent service and never waited more then a few minutes to be seated. I had never been to Princess Cayes and Loved it. We waited about

45 minutes to tender to shore and took the last tender back to the ship, This way we avoided any lines.

There were passengers of all ages on this ship and lots of families. The dress was more casual then any ship I have sailed on.  The last day is always the worst on any cruise. Finding our lugguge was the worst mess I have ever seen. I wouldn't blame it on the Princess cruise lines. Passengers were just tossing and shoving luggage everywhere. A few patience and a little respect for others would help here. I would highly reccomend the ship to all ages and families. We are cruising on the Diamond Princess to Alaska in May of 2006.

Hope this review helps. Carol

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Eastern Caribbean
Publication Date: April 29, 2005

I've broken the review into what are hopefully, easily readable categories.

Our Ages: 52 & 58 respectively

Occupations: Executive professionals

# of Cruises: 7 (Norwegian and Celebrity)

Pre-Cruise: Stayed at the Hyatt Pier 66 - not bad, good location, stayed in a tower room. However, didn't think it was good value for the money.

Embarkation: Very efficient. Arrived at 11:15 - we were in our cabin by noon. However, we had to locate it ourselves as there weren't a lot of staff to assist in providing directions.

Disembarkation: Also efficient.

Cabin: A mini-suite on the Dolphin deck. Accommodations were fine, however, I wouldn't spend the money on a mini-suite again as we didn't find it to be much different than a verandah cabin. The only discernible difference seemed to be the extra closet space and bathtub.

A word about the uncovered verandah - it's probably a personal preference like many other things, but we weren't fond of it. When others were out above us, it felt intrusive. Aboslutely no privacy. Also, we were particularly bothered by the cigarette smoke. Maybe it was just this cruise, but it seemed like we were surrounded by smokers.

As a matter of

fact, this particular cruise seemed to have a lot of smokers. We'd be sitting out on a lounger, two people would sit down beside us and light up. We had to move many, many times. We finally went to the front desk to inquire about Princess' smoking policy and they weren't clear themselves. They thought smoking was only allowed on the Port side, or was it Starboard?! Not very impressive. This issue became a sore point for us.

Dining/Food: Overall - average.

We requested a traditional dining reservation as soon as we booked the cruise in March and were wait listed. Went to see the maitre'd as soon as we got on board, but were unsuccessful in securing a reservation. We had no choice but to do Anytime Dining. It wasn't for us. I know others love it, but we like knowing that we'll have a table at a fixed time each night and quite enjoy having the same wait staff.

Often, we had to wait for a table. You're given one of those square discs that lights up and asked to come back when it goes off. Some nights the wait was 5 minutes, other nights, almost a half hour. The anytime dining felt rushed as the staff seemed frazzled and confused by the concept. One course was barely finished before they whisked away your plate and put your next course in front of you.

I found the food itself to be average - sometimes bordering on bland. Salt and pepper seemed to be the only seasonings that the kitchen was familiar with.

We did try Sterling's which was good but the dining room/restaurant itself wasn't anything special. You kind of feel that you're sitting out in a food court like environment. Plus, as the steaks are being grilled over an open flame, the smoke alarm went off all through the meal which made for an unpleasant experience.

We did, however, love Sabatini's. Worth the upcharge. If you want to dine here, make your reservation as soon as you get on board.

Sterling's and Sabatin's aside, the food overall was fair to good. Plentiful, but fair to good. Celebrity does a much, much better job in this area.

Entertainment: Didn't experience much here with the exception of one broadway style show and Bert Stratton in the Crooner's Lounge. The former was average but Bert was exceptional. If he's on your cruise, get a seat early, sit back, and be prepared to have a good time.

Shore Excursions: We didn't book that many as we tend to do our own thing. We did go on the half day, champagne catamaran/snorkelling tour in St. Thomas to St. John which, at $79 was quite good. We booked a two person kayak on Princess Cays - not good value for the money.

Service: Hit and miss. Our cabin steward was exceptional. The wait staff in the two speciality restaurants, also, exceptional. Dining room and buffet staff - a very few good ones, the others were fair to poor. The front desk, at least the individuals that we encountered, were ill-informed and disappointing. When we went to see them after our experience at Sterling's Restaurant, they couldn't seem to care any less. They just shrugged their shoulders, and said "well, what can you do?!"

Overall: Well, we feel that a cruise is what you make of it. And, when you're at sea, disconnected from reality, and don't have to think about anything more than where to go for dinner, how can that be a bad thing? There are plusses and minuses with most things. We experienced more minuses on this adventure but not enough to ruin our wonderful time together.

Everyone has personal favourites. We met many people who were loyal Princess cruisers. We just won't be two of them.

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 31 - 40 of 62 1234567