Carnival Legend Reviews

  • Average User Rating

    Excellent
  • My Rating

    You have not rated this yet

User Ratings

Overall Rating
4.1
from 80 reviews

Cuisine

Service Level

Value for Money

Ship Décor

Public Rooms

Staterooms

Kid's Programs

Daytime Activities

Nightlife

Shore Tours

Itinerary

Alternative Dining

80 User Reviews of Carnival Legend Cruise Ship

Western Caribbean
Publication Date: June 14, 2009

We traveled on the Legend for second time. The ship has been updated since 2007 and a mini-golf course has been added on top deck. This is great for the kids. They also had tournaments, and my son won twice.

The food was very good and the service was great too.

The Cozumel stop was cancelled due to swine flu, but the extra day at sea was nice.

The weather was great. It was the smoothest sailing ever (this was my 12th cruise).

Our balcony cabin on deck 8 had enough room for all four of us.

My kids are 13 and 15, and there were not enough kids onboard for them to really do anything in the kids club. They found other things to do though.

Embarking and debarking was very easy (we did the self-disembark). We were able to get off the ship by 7:30, and were in the car by 8:15am and heading home.

We used the spa and gym area on this cruise.

The entertainment was great. The waterslide was fun. You can always find a chair on deck.

Carnival still has the best french fries and I love that they have

a sandwich station on the lido deck. Carnival is a line for every age group.

Traveled on the Legend for 2nd time.Ship has been updated(since 2007)and a mini-golf course added on top deck.great for the kids. they also had tournaments,my son won twice.Food was very good and service was great.Cozumel stop cancelled due to swine flu, Extra day at sea was nice.Weather was great.Smoothest sailing ever(my 12th cruise).Balcony cabin on deck 8 enough room for all four of us.My kids are 13&15 not enough kids for them to do anything in the kids club. They found other things to do though.

Embarking and debarking very easy(we did self debark)was able to get off ship by 7:30,in car by 8:15am heading home.We used the spa and gym area. Entertainment was great.Waterslide was fun.You can always find a chair on deck.Carnival still has the best french fries and I love that they have a sandwich station on lido deck.Carnival is a line for every age.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: June 14, 2009

Traveled on the Legend for 2nd time.Ship has been updated(since 2007)and a mini-golf course added on top deck.great for the kids. they also had tournaments,my son won twice.Food was very good and service was great.Cozumel stop cancelled due to swine flu, Extra day at sea was nice.Weather was great.Smoothest sailing ever(my 12th cruise).Balcony cabin on deck 8 enough room for all four of us.My kids are 13&15 not enough kids for them to do anything in the kids club. They found other things to do though.

Embarking and debarking very easy(we did self debark)was able to get off ship by 7:30,in car by 8:15am heading home.We used the spa and gym area. Entertainment was great.Waterslide was fun.You can always find a chair on deck.Carnival still has the best french fries and I love that they have a sandwich station on lido deck.Carnival is a line for every age.

Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: May 31, 2009

Great family cruise! After being a dedicated Celebrity and Crystal cruiser, I had my doubts about Carnival, so my expectations were to be underwhelmed.

The boat/cabin were very nice -- a balcony room is a must. The food was really good. I felt our service in the dining room was a little rushed and the shows were only ok -- but still mildly entertaining. The towel folding was incredible and a highlight of each evening's return to our room.

Don't book any spa visits for the beginning of your cruise -- save them for the end. Prices dropped every day of the cruise. Gym was nice, and the Pilates class was led by a very good instructor.

We loved our shore excursions -- parasailing and Stingray City in Cayman, cave tubing (booked independently) in Belize, and Jolly Roger snorkel and Gumba Linda Nature Park in Roatan. I wasn't disappointed with any of them. I do wish Carnival would have given us a second day in Cayman or Belize for our cancelled day in Cozumel. Also exiting the boat was much more orderly on the other 4 cruises I've been on. It was a

free for all and no one cares if you are late for your shore excursion.

Embarking was very easy, but debarkation was very disorganized. But we did end up making our early flight back to Arizona from Tampa.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: October 26, 2008

Embarkation at the Port of Tampa is exceptionally well organized, and as Platinum members we were aboard the ship within 15 minutes of entering the doors.

We found the "Legend" to be beautiful, and clean as usual, and our stateroom was an ocean view with an obstructed view, but with floor to ceiling French Doors. It was exceptionally roomy and nice.

The service aboard the entire ship was outstanding, and the food seems to us to be getting better with each cruise we've taken aboard Carnival in the past year or so. Even the steaks and prime rib were very tasty, and tender! Perhaps Carnival has changed suppliers of their beef?

We chose early seating, and enjoyed the GREAT service in the dining room each night.

Entertainment was excellent, with three lead singers instead of the usual two. Big production shows were very good, as well as the comedians, and other acts presented.

We unfortunately had rain throughout the week, which spoiled many of the excursions for lots of people, but that was certainly beyond the control of Carnival, and they did everything possible to make the cruise enjoyable for those who missed activities in

the ports.

The week flew by, and upon our return to the Port of Tampa, we once again witnessed the lack of confusion which is apparent on many cruise lines, and at many ports. Debarkation was swift and without the usual chaos, and once again, as Platinum card holders, we were ashore by 08:45.

I'd highly recommend the "Legend" to anyone wishing to sail on a fun, organized cruise, with GREAT food, and superior entertainment.

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: September 2, 2007

This is the 12th cruise for me and 10th for my husband, so we are not new to the game. I really like cruising. I am 67 yrs. old and I am very open minded.

The Legend is a lovely ship, exceptionally clean, an interesting decorative theme, and we had a lovely balcony state room. The service was great in both cabin and dining room. The show dancers and singers did a great job. The piano man, Jordan Addison, was exceptional. The photographers took good pictures. I had no problems with the ports as our whole itinerary was changed due to a hurricane. But both my husband and I were disappointed in the food. The food at the Unicorn Cafe was pretty sad. We don't eat junk food normally, but found the pizzas, grilled sandwiches and the hot dogs and french fries better than the main courses and salads served there. The custom omelets, fruit and cereals were the most edible breakfast food. The dining room food was presented nicely but meat courses were often tough. We don't eat desserts but they did look better than a lot of the food.

Normally

I find the pool side games and fun events the highlight of my cruise. These were sadly lacking. I like trivia but not by the pool. There could have been a lot more fun things at the pool and more steel drum island music. Things like scavenger hunts where people get involved is fun. So I will rate the ships appearance, cleanliness, and service excellent and the food and entertainment lacking. But I will certainly cruise again if God is willing.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean -- Singles Cruise
Publication Date: August 25, 2007

It was my second time on the Carnival Legend ship. I cruised with Vacations to Go singles group and some girls I meet on previous cruises with that company.

Our ports were supposed to be Grand Cayman, Belize,Costa Maya and Cozumel. Do to hurrricane Dean hitting our ports the previous week our itinerary was switched to Key West, Ocho Rios and still included Grand Cayman and Cozumel. Carnival did not announce any changes untill the Friday before the cruise, we set sail on Sunday. I think they did this because they don't want people to cancel.

The ship is still in good shape. I had my first balcony cabin. I had to remind myself to use it and ordered some room service breakfasts to eat outside. It was nice but I think I will just stick to oceanview window cabins, much cheaper and one can always go up on deck where the action is anyway.

The food and service were good. I recall all the sea food was very good, better then the steaks. I had Prime Rib one night it was good but made the mistake of ordering medium rare

it was too bloody for me. You could only order it medium rare or medium well, I should have gotten it medium well.I cruised with our Matre D Joesph on a previous cruise on the Carnival Pride it was good to see him again.

Ports Key West: Key West was great. I did the Ghosts and Legends tour. Ghost tours are a hobby of mine, and this was one of the best I've ever been on. Very scary in broad daylight just stay close to the guide so you can hear the storys. I also took a photo that had an orb in it, which is how ghosts photograph. If you like this sort of thing I'd highly recommend this excursion. After it was over I had a bit of free time I headed into town and meet my group at Sloppy Joes bar. Then decided to get some frozen Key lime pie on a stick, yummy! I also had time to do a bit of shopping. I found a jewelry store and brought a real cool necklace made from a sterling silver coin from the ship wreak Atocha that sunk off the coast of Keywest in the 1600's and was discoverd in 1980. It was wrapped in 14k gold and has a certificate of Authenticity. i was very pleased with my purchase at is over 370 years old and quite a conversation piece.

Ocho Rios: I've been here before it's beautiful, I decided to forgoe a ships excursion for a relaxing beach day. We headed over to Jimmy Buffets Margaritaville bar which is very touristy but cool. It has a swim up bar, a pool with water slide, and is located in a tourist village that keeps the local venders from bugging you. The prices however in the shops here are much higher then you pay elsewhere in Jamicia where you can bargain but I didn't go here to shop. It is right next to a pretty private beach that costs $3 to go on, and more money if you want to use the trampoline or water slides. The DJ was good, and our group danced several of the line dances. I ate a jerk chicken wrap that was not very good. Danced, swam and had a nice day without spending a fortune.

Grand Cayman: I attempted the beginner scuba dive here not with Carnival, but with Shore trips. In my opinion having about a 15 to 20 minute brief orientation is not enough time to learn to properly scuba dive. The ship wreak site we were supposed to visit was quite a good swim from the pier where we dove from. Neither I nor the other man on my excursion made it out the wreak, I think it was for people with better swimming skills. Im a pretty stong swimmer in a pool but in the ocean with currents and lots of heavy cumbersome equiptment it's a different story. I saw a few fish, got some water in my regulator, which freaked me out, and lost my instuctor at one point who swam off without bothering to notice I wasn't with him. Reminded me of the movie "Open Water". I floated my vest, rose to the surface, and decided to call it a day. In the future I will either take the long course next time, or stick to snorkling. I did see a couple cool fish up close. We ate lunch at a place on the water, did some quick shopping and headed back to our ship.

Cozumel: I had planned to do a beach day here but since it was my only chance to see some Mayan ruins I opted for the trip to the mainland to see Talum. The weather was hot and sunny the seas were calm so the 45 minute fast ferry I've heard can be a bumpy ride was smooth as glass. I actually feel asleep on the ferry ride. It's followed by a 45 minute bus ride on a nice airconditioned tour bus to Talum. Talum is beautiful, very mystical, historic place. It was interesting but you cannot climb or explore the ruins just look at them. The prettiest part is the cliff overlooking the most pristine beach below. The view is breathtaking. We had a bit of time left to grab some lunch here and do some shopping. I bargained and got a good price on a Mayan Mask carved from mother of pearl and gem stones.

Singles Activities The pre-cruise party in Tampa was a lot of fun. We went to Bahama Mamas which has 2 other bars attached. We had about 200 singles it was a blast.

Line Dance Class: Was excellent. I've never danced as much as I did on this cruise. We learned the Cupid Shuffle as well as some other line dances.Our group was always visable on the dance floors at the bars and disco.

Single Pictionary: A great time, I was team captain.

Private Pirate Party: Most people went all out with their costumes, it was a very good time.

There were some other activitys but I didn't participate in them so I won't review them.

Although I was very disappointed by losing two of the ports I most wanted to visit, we still had a very nice vacation. If your going to travel during hurricane season at least a cruise ship can be re routed, which is better then being stuck trying to evacuate a land based resort if a hurricane hits!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: June 17, 2007

My family of five cruised on the Legend June 17-24. It was our first cruise and we attended a family reunion with 20 people total. To say the least a cruise is like no other vacation. We are still talking about and when our family gets together again I'm sure we'll continue to share the great moments.

Legend has nice staterooms with a view. Easily to get around and the crew was great. Fabulous food with the formal meals each night and highlighted by the servers and staff's "Showtime" with song and dance. What fun to see our servers singing and dancing on tables and leading us in a conga line!

Plenty to do on board with games, trivia contest, shows, comedians, galley tour, casino, midnight buffet, bath rope party, and a fantastic band that performs every night during their nightly performances in the Follies Lounge. Captain's reception had complimentary drinks and food. Plenty of shops on board with sales on jewelry, clothes, etc. Also nightly drink specials, but beware drinks are pricey. Expect to pay $5.75 for domestic beer.

Regarding shore excursions: Grand Cayman was unique with the British influence. We decided

to just go to 7 mile beach and relax. Then lunch at Senor Frog's for lively entertainment. Cozumel was clear kayaking and snorkeling. I was amazed by the clear waters and beautiful sea life. Belize we did city tour and zoo with a local tour guide in a mini-van. Costa Maya we visited the Mayan ruins and were intrigued by the culture and excavated ruins. All ports have a variety of shops to choose from right at the pier, but most piers are close to local stores and restaurants outside the perimeter of the pier. So in Cozumel you can get a Mexican beer for $1.50 and a large bottle of Kaluha for only $12 (duty free.)

Days at sea there is time for games, pool or just relaxation. And of course more great food.

NOTES:

--My children are 18, 16 and 12 and did not participate in any organized kids' programs. They just enjoyed the freedom of being onboard doing there own thing with the cousins and other relatives.

--Shore excursion can be booked anytime on board with Carnival. Plenty to choose from. Might be a bit cheaper on shore with local providers but it can become confusing when you really don't know what you want to do and you are approached by so many local people to sell their own packages.

--Snorkeling is fantastic in the Caribbean but you should consider the Barrier Reef, which we did NOT do. Ours was from the shore and did not see the best. So in Belize or Costa Maya take the excursion that includes shuttle to the reefs.

-- Rough seas out of Belize with 50 mph winds so being on deck was kind of exciting, but several us became slightly seasick.

In closing the best vacation I have ever had! Can't really compare it with the traditional vacation on land. Was it perfect? Almost!! Do it again? I hope so!

Expand Review
Read More
 
Western Caribbean
Publication Date: May 27, 2007

13th cruise 4th carnival. Ship layout was easy and the same as the Pride.We had a balacony on 6th floor very nice.ports where grand cayman,cozumel,belize,costa maya. grand cayman beautiful,cozmel ship came in at the other pier and it is 3 1/2 miles to town.they did not tell us that.you need to take a cab $6 for 2people one way.

Town has been cleaned up since i was there 13yrs ago. Went cavetubing in belize(with carnival) glad we did, we were the 3rd bus out and did not have to wait for anyone, lunch was chicken,rice and beans and potatos after tubing and where back to pier by 2:30. get off the ship on 1st tender to get the first buses.it was expensive but we felt safer had a great tour of island along the way with guide name Star. hike in the rain forrest was only 30min.tops then float for 1 1/2 hours in the cave.something different to do. 1st time to costa maya.alot of little bugs and pool water was dirty. we had a very relaxing time on the ship and not many kids on board.service was good for everything

no complaints.
Expand Review
Read More
 
Panama Canal
Publication Date: December 18, 2006

Ship: Most Carnival ships are really bad, i hear this form frineds and from the one other ship i havew been on. They are really dirty i hear. But this hsip is probably the best i have ever seen. The lobby is huge! and the theme is rennaisance and art. Thats all i have to say. Art. There are many beautiful paintings evrywhere and many glass sculptures and things. GPOing on the lobby elevators all the way up, you will notice a massive but beautiful man statue of liberty. The ship was also pretty clean and all too! Overall, the ship is great - 10 out of 10. Also, there were many Christmas decor this time since this cruise was going on during christmas.

Food: Food was pretty good. I ac tually did not eat much this cruise, but the dinenr was uaully good. I mysalef had a steak each night. Each night there werre different steaks, ands all but like 2 were good. Sometimes oit was undercooked. I dont know too much about the food, so i would say 7 out of 10.

Entertainment; The entertainment on the ship was

ok. The shows were good and all, but they can be a bit better. The cruise direcotr is different tho. Hes not ;like the one that talks to people and all liek the others. His assistants are good though.One thing thAT i saw was unique was the hypnosis show. They have a comedy hypnosis show which was really good. The comdedy was ok, but he did do many racist jokes. Especially to my family. Sicne there was crhsitmas, there was a big christmas show going on. It was pretty good, with Christmas dances and this si where all the little camp carnival kdis showed their stuff.

Camp Carnival: I am a teen myself. The activities for us were good enough but the teens on this crusie never went to them. Firstly,m they souneded boring. Next, almost all of them is tied into with the 9-11 year olds. Jsut remmeber that, the 9-11's share with 12-14.

Pools: Tehre are 4 pools and a huge great slide. The pools are a good size and are fun. There are big jaccuzzis near them. the sliden ois the best tho. it does not land in a pool, bu its still good. It turns aroudn twice, then makes some long turns that accelerates your speed. Then you go to the end, where you send alot, ALOT, of water at the spectators right next to the sldie exit.

Itinerary: This cruise was great. first stop was panama. I took an excursion that was basically an all out tour of panama. It had described the city. then it went to the locks, whochw ere amazing. NExt it twent to a famous hotel and form there we took boats and went on one of the biggest lakes of the canal. What made this special was we went to a native village, with antives still there. And these people dont have elctricity1 they still barel have clothing and all! Here the chief will speak to you in spanish with a translator. He will tell you about the village and how they make their buildings. he also talks about culture, and the kids. Next, there are two dances with the gir;ls. Theres one more dance where you can go up and join in!If you know spanish, you can talkw itht he natives. many knew spanish.

NExt was coasta rica. I took the zipline tour thigny. Tehre are mroe than one zipline tours but i say - high there sounded the ebst. it wasnt jsut ziplining, but also a gondola tour! It was actually considered the best and the whole company had a purpose for its making, which was like helping the environment and all. So first,you get in the bus whoichw as highly comfortabkle. You get a tour of the city then a two hour drive to the rainforest. you can see a video abpout the forest on the way there. then you get there, walk around a bit, then strap on for the zip;lining. This was meant for begginers, and it is nton scary at all. I was about to crap my panta b4 i went on but i didnt get scared at all on it! the ziplining is 45 mintues, but it fewels like 5 min. for some reason.After that, you can go to anopther facility in the forest. We saw the worlds second most poisonous snake there. Other animals there include these poisonous lizards,keaf cutter ants, which were really interesting, and beautiful butterfiels. There are also sloths and jaguars. And these animals arent in an exhibit! That snake was found in a bush right on the trail!!! Next you take a gondola ride which was an hour. It was really informative and itneresting. U see alot about the forest. And this all sint fake like in disney!

Belize i think was the ebst port. Theres alot to do. Scuba dive oin the second ;largest barrier reef, cave tubing, or offroading in land rovers. Thats what w e did. We took a tour that went in a emssed up bus. But it was acool. it added to the adventure. We ahd a hilarious tour of the city, whichw as very itneresting. Then we got to the rainforest, took a break there, and got in these land rovers that YOU can drive if u know how tod rive stick and have a license! And this is like what you see in commerical,s driving through a river and a pool of mud! Its aweosome! I=you drive to an ancient mayan cavem see some stuff, then go out into the savannah. Its all a peaceful drive. then you got o the companies own farm, ahve some fruits and some other belizian food. Free drinks. And, if you want, you can pick out any orange form their porange trees. these were the best i jave tasted in ym life. Next, we went on a bpoat thagt drove through the country. We saw many animals, like those huge iguanas, nice brids, and crocodiles! It then drives throguh the city, under three bridges. 1 of them was made in the 20's/ it was famous because it was one of a kind. Its hard to explain what it dus, but its really really rewally really low. you have to crouch down when u are udner it. if didnt croush down, my head woudl hit the bridege fb4 going under! Then the boat takes u tpo the ship dso you dont ahve to wrory about tenders! But its kind of a bproblem because belize has good shopping.

so the itnerayr was 8. best place 1. belize, 2. coasta rica, 3. panama.

So this cruise was my est. i give it an 8 out of 10

Expand Review
Read More
 
 
Southern Caribbean
Publication Date: November 8, 2006

This was our second cruise on the Carnival Legend, sister ship to the Spirit, the Pride and the Miracle. Thus, we know our way around the Spirit class ships, which were built in cookie cutter fashion and all have the exact same layout. It was three years ago, when we first sailed on the Legend and we are happy to report that under the very amiable Hotel Director Ms. Shahnaz Kashanipour, the ship is just as pristine as ever! Captain Roberto Volpi commands her with special grace. He places the passengers safety and well being above all. When leaving the beautiful island of St. Maarten, he made a U-turn and returned to the island to disembark a very sick passenger who required hospitalization. We were surprised, when watching the patient's transference, that it was the same elderly gentleman who felt ill in Ft. Lauderdale, just before departure. Commandant Volpi makes sound swift decisions: a trait to be admired in the head person on board. This review will be brief and to the point, since we have already published a review on this ship (see Carnival Legend, March 2003) and furthermore, this

is a holiday week and only a few days before our next cruise on the Norwegian Jewel.

EMBARKATION Port Everglades, Ft. Lauderdale, FL is very handy for us, only one half hour from our home in Boca Raton. For a Wednesday or mid week departure I-95 had more traffic than usual, but still no long delays. Boarding Passes were given out on Pier 21 and then security was done inside: 5 minutes for the passes, 5 minutes for security and then a ten minute wait for the elevator to the second floor. Wheelchair passengers and VIPs were sent on ahead to a waiting area. Twenty minutes later the ship was cleared and we were aboard -- a total of 40 minutes. Excellent.

We went to meet Maitre D' Tihomir Brdar (Tom), a wonderfully accommodating and handsome gentleman who gave us a table for two, near the entrance of the Truffles Restaurant. We had lunch at the Unicorn Cafe, Lido Deck 9, and were back in our Stateroom #6273 resting until the mandatory Life Boat Drill at 3:30pm. Sail away was just after 4:00pm.

SHIP The Carnival Legend is 86,000 gross tons, her length is 959 ft., her beam 106 ft. and her height is 199 ft. keel to mast, with a draft of only 26 ft.. Her maximum speed is 24 knots. This is a lovely graceful white ship, sporting the familiar Carnival whale tail on top. The homogeneity exhibited on the outside of Carnival ships is not apparent at all on the inside. Architect Joseph Farcus' theme of legends for this ship is evidenced by the names of many public areas: Fountain of Youth Spa, Camelot Pool, The Golden Fleece Restaurant, Unicorn Cafe`, Medusa's Lair Club, and the Enchanted Forest walkway; the latter is one of our favorite places since it is a quiet, secluded, indoor walk around the prow of the ship with entrances near the theater.

The many silver colored amphorae and the maroon trimmed walls, with the Etruscan Key symbol repeated ad infinitum, are the central foci of this ship and give her an almost morose aspect. However, there are many whimsical touches like the blue and pink Morning Glories depicted on the dining room ceilings and the blue blown glass light fixtures. Yet, in these rooms the real items of note are the vitrines along the walls filled with famous china from around the world (i.e.. the blue and white Royal Danish by the entrance to Truffles is exquisite). However, most passengers glide right by and take little notice of the china.

Many public areas and much of the common walkways are marble, which makes the Legend a wheelchair rider's dream -- easy rolling. This ship is just as lovely as when new; great care is given to detail and her condition reflects it.

CABIN Stateroom #6273 has orange pine wood cabinetry and a very narrow entry. When entering on the left is a triple armoire; two sections have hangers and the third has shelves with the personal safe. Next, is a lighted mirrored vanity/desk with four draws. There is a cabinet with a refrigerator and two large storage areas. When entering on the right is the compact bathroom with a standard shower, single sink and sufficient shelves for toiletries. Then, there is a peach leather hide a bed, a coffee table, and a queen size bed with peach and beige linens and drapes; orange and red carpeting completes the room. The far wall has a glass door to the balcony. The cabin is long and narrow, while the balcony is narrow and deep. It has a chaise, chair and a small table. Our stewardess Ampika is a very efficient and sweet girl.

FOOD & SERVICE We found the service to be excellent on board. Captain Volpi is very visible (i.e., often during his arounds of the ship he converses with the passengers, listening intently to what they have to say). His genial approach is also followed in the dining room by Maitre D' Tom; he and his staff aim to please.

We had table #209 with waiter Gabor and his assistant Zoran, who were friendly and intent on pleasing passengers with their light hearted manner. We found the food to be good, but not on par with the Glory, Triumph, or the Liberty where French Chef Georges Blanc has made many improvements. The Carnival Legend did not offer the Blanc novelties, and the menu reminded us of the former standard Carnival fare.

In the Golden Fleece Supper Club, the upscale restaurant ($30 per person), the menu was much different than the Truffles dining rooms, especially the entrees. Hostess Ivana was very nice and the waitress Marina served us elegantly on Versace plates. This room is stunning and sits high atop the atrium. Appetizers were chef's chilled tomato soup, california roll, and Carpaccio with Parmigiano Reggiano shavings; salad was spinach, bacon bits and Bleu Cheese dressing. The veal chop was cooked to perfection, as were the lobster tail and fillet Mignon in the Surf & Turf entree, and the best side dish was the sautéed mushrooms. The special dessert was a spectacular caramelized crepe with thinly sliced apples, pistachios and almonds. The only problem is this dessert was so large that it would have been best served as a whole meal. The ambiance in the Golden Fleece was lovely. The live music provided by the duo of singers Patti and Dale was truly wonderful.

Food was good all over the ship. Of course, the best meal on board is always at the Captain's table. This cruise we dined with Captain Volpi, his dear childhood friends and the Senior Officers of the Legend: Staff Captain Luca Lazzarino, Environmental Officer Nicola Tonelli, Staff Engineer Giuseppe Seccia and Chief Engineer Nunzio Priolo who, at a passing mention that it was cold in the Truffles Dining Room, immediately called his office and got a quick adjustment to the desired temperature. He invited Vincent to visit the ship's control room, where Vincent was astounded to see the amount of precise information available to the engineers. Mr. Priolo even checked our cabin #6273 and told Vincent it was a comfortable 72 degrees. Yes, service is "Legendary" on board.

ENTERTAINMENT Cruise Director Brent Mitchell has a very big job on his hands, but he is surely up to the task. There are tournaments in the Club Merlin Casino: Slots, Texas Hold them Poker, and Blackjack. There is Trivia, Pool side Antics, Golf lessons, Arts & Crafts, Bridge Games, Bingo, Art Auctions, Dance Classes, Tea Time, Sushi Time, Party Music in Satchmo's Club (a beautiful under used area of the ship --- that would make another great alternative dining, i.e. a New Orleans Restaurant or buffet). Show Time is in the theater every night, and Teen Dances, Adult Comedy shows and Late Night Disco are ongoing for the night owls. There is plenty to do on board and when in port there are all kinds of tours.

PORTS OF CALL

Day 1. Ft. Lauderdale, FL. Depart 4:00pm

Day 2. At Sea

Day 3. At Sea

Day 4. St. Maarten Arrive 7:00am Depart 4:00pm There are some interesting shore excursions on this island: Several Snorkeling and Snuba diving tours for those who love to see a great variety of coral, sea creatures and shipwrecks; a couple of tours with Jeeps and ATVs for convoy style driving through the island; a tour by Land & Sea of St. Maarten first on a catamaran and then on a Swiss Army Jeep; and an easy tour on the Macarena Choo Choo party bus.

Day 5. Barbados Arrive 12:00pm (usually) Depart 10:00pm Our arrival time here was at 2:00pm, due to the delay for the medical emergency the evening before, thus some tours were canceled. Several combination tours are available: a Safari ride in Zebra striped Land Rovers with visits to the Ocean Park and the South Coast Beach, combined with a refreshing swim at the beach; a Safari ride to the wildlife reserve with the Green Monkey Encounter; a catamaran sailing to a site where one can snorkel to view a shipwreck and exotic coral and marine life combined with a convoy type tour of the island on 4x4 vehicles; and other tours to a Plantation House and Rum Factory, etc....

Day 6. Martinique Arrive 7:00am Depart 2:00pm A few shore excursions are available here: A visit to the Botanical Gardens where a great variety of tropical plants and flowers can be seen; a Sailing, Sun & Fun tour of the coastal waters with swimming and snorkeling; and St. Pierre Island Tour, a scenic bus ride around the island up the mountains and through the tropical forest, a close view of the famous volcano, Mt. Pelee, and a visit to the Depaz Rum Distillery, etc....

Day 7. At Sea

Day 8. At Sea

Day 9. Ft. Lauderdale Arrive 7:00am Debarkation 8:30am

DEBARKATION If you wish to carry off your own baggage, then early debarkation is for you. The ship was cleared by officials at 8:30am and we debarked at 9:00am. It took just twenty minutes from our cabin to the pier. Ms. Kashanipour had a steward come to our cabin to help with the wheelchair. It made everything easier. Thanks! This eight day cruise ended on a Thursday and the I-95 traffic was so heavy, that it took us almost two hours to drive the usually one half hour trip. But, we are safely home at last and with happy cruise memories.

CONCLUSIONS This has been our 8th cruise on Carnival ships and a pleasant one, but not on par with most of the cruises that we have had recently on this cruise line. The service has been excellent, the itinerary interesting, the weather just marvelous, everything met our expectation, with the exception of the cuisine which has been good, but not as good as the ones that we have recently savored on the Glory, the Liberty and the Triumph. The main reasons for this are for the pasta dishes and the bread rolls in the Truffles Dining Room: The pasta texture and sauces did not meet Vincent's palate expectations (not tasting "Italian") and the rolls were not sufficiently cooked. However, we did enjoy other items on the menu, especially the desserts.

We are addicted to cruising and we have enjoyed every cruise we have taken, including this one, but we are still looking for the "perfect cruise", thus we'll keep cruising until we find it. Here are a few suggestions to make some improvements to this cruise:

1. We suggest putting some deck chairs or benches on Deck 3 outside Promenade. It is important for the older cruisers to leisurely walk or stroll for their daily exercise some place on the ship, away from the Jogging Track on the Sport Deck 11 where the more fit younger cruisers run at a faster pace than we can, and the best place is the Promenade on Deck 3. We periodically need to sit down and rest during our stroll.

2. We spend a lot of time in our stateroom, thus we frequently watch movies, news and sport programs on TV. We were happy to see that CNN was available, but did not like to watch the ABC, CBS and NBC stations which transmit their local news from Colorado (very provincial) rather than having stations from a more cosmopolitan area (i.e., New York or Miami, which are on the same time zone as the ship). Moreover, we would have liked to watch the Masters Cup Tennis series and the Soccer Champions League and UEFA Cup matches on ESPN International, but it was not available in the cabin, so we went to the Dream Team Sport Bar; however, the loud noise from the slot machines in the nearby Casino irritated those who were watching TV in the Sport Bar.

We have two more cruises before the Holiday Season, on the Norwegian Jewel, Nov. 26th and on the Queen Mary II, Dec. 9th. Until then, Happy Cruising to all "Frequent Floaters".

Expand Review
Read More
Write a Review
Results 11 - 20 of 80 1234567

Similar Cruise Ships

Carnival Breeze
Carnival Breeze
From 3 Reviews
Ecstasy
Ecstasy
From 51 Reviews
Elation
Elation
From 54 Reviews
Fascination
Fascination
From 43 Reviews