View Single Post
Old September 24th, 2008, 10:05 AM
Administrator
Admiral

Default Re: Booking with Travel Agent or Direct

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbowman
Ok. So today I went to my travel agency, Escapades Travel here in San Antonio to book my cruise. I had read that booking with a TA would usually gain you extra perks. Such as free trip insurance, ect. I got nothing. I put it on "hold" until Thursday when I have to go back to pay my deposit. I was kinda surprised by the whole thing. She was nice, and seemed like she was interested in helping me, but everything I told her she disregarded. I asked for a deck that did not have a public area above or below. She gave me the Upper deck. I asked for a balcony cabin mid deck, I get one Aft. I tell her that I have cruised before, she ignores me. I tell her that I don't want near the elevator, I get one 2 doors down. I swear it was like I was not even talking to her. I have never used a TA before. I have always booked my own travel. Even when I went to France I did every thing myself. I am/was considering Conquest. I may have to re think and go Ecstacy instead. I have not made up my mind, but I do have until Thursday.

My question is this: Is there any benefits to booking with a TA vs Direct with Carnival? So far I think I may cancel her booking and do my own. Especially since I did not get the cabin location/deck that I wanted. I mean if they are booked and thats all thats left then fine, but she did not ask.

I am wanting to sail the Conquest on Feb 21, 2010 or the Ecstacy on Feb 20, 2010.
I don't know if you wanted "The lowest price" or were more concerned with the cabin location. If you were specific about the location I would get a new TA. There are plenty of mid-ship, 8C cabins, available on Empress deck (i.e. 7363) that perfectly fits your criteria.