View Single Post
Old December 16th, 2011, 04:55 PM
Welcome Newcomer

I realize that this thread is a few months old, but I am new to this forum, and wanted to give a "new spin" to the original posters' question. I am actually a "non-cruiser"....so why am I here?

I'm here because I've been listening to a few family members for MANY years tout how great cruise vacations are, to which frankly we've always resisted. To be fair to our family members who are so insistant, I agreed to check out a few of these cruise community forums (at their recommendation) to get some background and current info on cruising.

To give some general info:

*We are fortunate to earn a very nice living, so economics does not come into play when we choose not to cruise.
* We live in the SE United States, so access to cruise departure ports is not an issue for us if we so chose
* We take multiple enjoyable vacations every year, so I wouldn't characterize ourselves as "workaholics" who can't or won't relax.
* We enjoy having fun, so we are not what most would consider "sticks in the mud".
* He have no doubt that those of you who cruise regularly truly love them, so I have no opinion that cruises must be a "bad vacation"...to each his/her own.
* With full respect to all of you who love cruising....I'm not really looking to be "converted", I'm just trying to offer another opinion on why some of us (I guess 80% of us?) choose not to cruise.

However, from a non-cruisers' standpoint, here are some of the reasons why we have always resisted even considering a cruise (please forgive that some may come across as tired answers to you that have been made by many non-cruisers before):

* We are really not at all interested in "resort type settings"; we have instead traveled to Europe somewhat regularly to stay in B&B's, or go to destinations in Arizona and New Mexico, as well as the Gulf Coast to rental homes.