View Single Post
Old August 10th, 2013, 03:13 PM
Welcome Newcomer

Default I really want to do this...need advice!

hello!

I am a might-be first time cruiser
Basically, I really need a vacation. I haven't taken one since starting a job last July, and pretty much everyone else at my work has...coworkers in my "cohort" have been to India, going to Europe for three weeks, traveling in Asia, everyone's going everywhere it seems! I need something both exciting and relaxing and restorative. Love my job but I've been working hard for 13 months. My parents will be going to Hawaii on Monday, and I'll be taking care of the house while they are gone. I did this when they went to the Bahamas in March.

Time for me to go somewhere! I'm long overdue for a break.

My top top top choice capital D capital V Dream Vacation is this 15-day Princess Cruise from San Francisco to Hawaii in November (I'm looking at the one that leaves on the 10th, but there's another at the end of the month). It just sounds perfect. In addition to my parents, a lot of coworkers are going to Hawaii and well, I'd love to. Haven't been in ten years. I have a long list of pros that outweigh the cons of taking this cruise, but I guess no one here needs convincing that this is a fun thing to do!

Still, I have tons of questions.
I live 45 minutes from San Francisco, so that eliminates the need for flights and hotels near the port— that saves money everything considered? It's a good price for what I get out of it. 15 days for ~$2,300. I asked my friend who went to India for the same length of time and he said his trip was $4,000 something, and this is certainly cheaper than flying to Hawaii and staying in any halfway decent hotel for two weeks. I need to know though, is Princess a good line? Pictures look nice, and I don't need a large room at all. I think the interior staterooms would be totally fine..are they?