View Single Post
Old June 6th, 2004, 01:35 PM
Passenger

Default Re: lets try this again--a thank you gift for cabin steward

I'm not a cabin steward, but I'm in another profession that gets "appreciation gifts" from people -- I'm a teacher.

First of all, I'd like to say that I actually prefer NOT to get Christmas gifts, end-of-year gifts, Teacher Appreciation Day gifts from students. It always makes me uncomfortable, since there are inevitably some students whose parents don't follow these traditions and I feel badly for those kids if I *do* make a big deal out of the gifts, and I feel badly for the kids who bought them if I *don't* make a big deal of it. So, my preferred gift is a letter thanking me for whatever it is I have done for their child that year (assuming they believe it!). It was particularly nice the year that all the parents got together, wrote a glowing letter, and sent it to my superintendent, asking it be put in my permanent file. :-)

That said, however, I do have some preferences about gifts, if I must recieve them. The sad fact is that I have enough knicknacks and Christmas ornaments to decorate five houses. A very, very small percentage of the housewares I've been given fit in with my decor. I'm not a "novelty" kind of person, so those aprons, vests and earrings with little books and pencils hanging on them are in a box in my closet -- I feel badly about giving them away, but I can't see myself wearing them.

I guess what I am saying is, "personal" gifts usually don't work well in a professional environment. While my students' parents know me as a teacher, they don't really know my personal likes and dislikes as well as they think they do. I've generally found that the gifts that I have been able to *use* the most have been pretty generic -- a girt certificate to the local mall, bookstore gift certificates, etc. I know the parents often feel they are "copping out" by not making it more personal, but in fact, it is a better match for me.