Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > Alaska
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 20th, 2002, 08:27 PM
Mer

Default Inside Passage vs. Gulf of Alaska

Is the Gulf of Alaska cruise really that much better than an inside passage tour? Is the scenery really that different, or are most of the glaciers more or less the same? Flying in and out of Vancouver seems easier than returning through Anchorage, and cheaper too. Is an Alaska land tour really worth all the time traveling on bus or train? I'm an active person, and am afraid I'll get bored with all the sitting and looking out the window.

I'm just beginning my research for a cruise next summer and could use advice. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Old July 21st, 2002, 12:45 AM
DeniseToAlaska

Default Re: Inside Passage vs. Gulf of Alaska

I can't help you with the land tours, but as for the rest...

All glaciers are not the same. Hubbard Glacier was spectacular. Since Sawyer Glacier is actually a 'destination', I'd imagine that one is spectacular too.

I'm not sure what you mean about the Inside Passage. Almost all cruises go Inside Passage, and that's not where the bulk of the glaciers are. They're in College Fjord and Glacier Bay.

You'd think that in and out of Vancouver would be easy, but Customs makes it a pain. I'd much rather go Seattle to Seattle and forget about Customs. Also cheaper airfare.

I'm compiling a list of Alaska cruises next year for a family reunion type thing, so here is the list of itineraries. Just post the letter and I can let you know which ship/date it's for.

A: Vancouver, Inside Passage, Juneau, Skagway, Sawyer Glacier, Ketchikan, Inside Passage, Seattle

B: Seattle, Inside Passage, Juneau, Skagway, Sawyer Glacier, Ketchikan, Victoria, Seattle

C: Seattle, Inside Passage, Juneau, Skagway, Glacier Bay, Ketchikan, Victoria, Seattle