Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > Alaska
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old April 2nd, 2003, 07:16 PM
Wookie82

Default Alaska Side Trips

Hi, I was reading the board and getting alot of information, I am taking an Alaskan cruise from Vancouver on the Carnival Spirit in mid July. I am looking into some side trips but everything is up in the air. I was wondering, what was everyones favorite trips off the boat and in what cities? Also, this is my first time on a cruise, so I was wondering, Should I book through Carnival or should I go with independent companies?

Right now I am thinking that I definately want to do the Dogsledding/Helicopter combo, and Kayaking somewhere... Budget doesnt matter that much, figure how often am I going to be able to do this? But then again, anything thats great and cheap is awesome too.

Thanks for all your help
Wookie
Sponsored Links
Old April 3rd, 2003, 12:22 AM
Passenger

Default Re: Alaska Side Trips

Wookie82 - As you will find with most postings, many of us book our excursions outside of the cruiselines. Reason is simple, smaller parties, cheaper rates. I was able to get a great deal on dogsledding/helicopter out of Skagway using Temsco helicoptors. You get a better rate calling them direct. It has less chances of being cancelled and I got good discounts for kids. In Juneau, Capt Larry Whalewatching seems to get the most votes. Cheaper than the cruiseline, more personal and from everyones writeups, a great excursion to see whales up close.... Karen16 on this cruise is the expert for all excursions and she will probably chime in with her advice. Listen up, you will get to know everything in a short period. Happy sailing....
Old April 3rd, 2003, 06:59 AM
Admiral