Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > Alaska
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old October 17th, 2005, 09:16 AM
Beginner

Default Alaskan Cruise Shopping

I'm just beginning to shop for an Alaskan Cruise for June 2006. I have info and prices from Princess and Royal C. Do you prefer one cruise line over the other, or do you choose it by the ports of call??? Any suggestions from past Alaskan cruisers would be helpful.. This is an expensive cruise and I want to make sure that I do the best I can, I will probably only go there once in a lifetime. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Old October 18th, 2005, 05:08 AM
Admiral

Especially in Alaska what is outside the ship is a priority if ALASKA is what you are looking for.

You do not indicate- are you looking at a one way or round trip cruise? If one way- strongly consider adding another week, Alaska isn't a frequent trip for most so take advantage of being all the way there. Just excellent endless opportunities.

If you are only considering the 2 lines, some differences to consider Princess does Glacier Bay and College Fjords on their one way trips, definate plus, but goes to Whittier instead of Seward with RCI does- RCI the winner here. (BUT most people just pass through). Icy Strait Point (Hoonah) is an excellent port for some "real Alaska". Princess has ship naturalists- a clear winner. So perhaps get out on paper and make a list- look at ports, time in ports, glacier, route, price. Budget fully for costly tours, you get only half a trip without them. As for route- most Seattle cruises have 2 days of open ocean sailing and the poorest routings for scenic cruising, round trip Vancouver is superior.
Old October 18th, 2005, 02:08 PM
Beginner

Default Re: Alaskan Cruse shopping