Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > All Things Cruising
Register Forgot Password?

All Things Cruising Any cruise question not specific to one cruise line

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old June 23rd, 2008, 12:51 AM
Beginner

Default First-time cruiser, and I have questions!

Hey everyone! I have been reading these boards for days, getting as much info as I can. My first cruise will be in Jan. '09, on Carnival Destiny (I think it's the Western Caribbean route - Grand Cayman and Jamaica). We leave from Miami.

Anyway, as a total cruising noob, I have questions that I haven't found the answers to yet here:

-- I'm starting to get nervous about the amount of chaos, especially on Carnival (so it seems). Is there anywhere you can go for some peace and quiet? I won't have a balcony room, just the ocean view Am I going to be forced to go to the topless deck just to get away from the crowds?

-- How much are drinks? I'm not planning to getting loaded or anything, but I don't want sticker shock either at the end of the cruise.

-- I'm going with a pre-registered group. We will be attending a couple of seminars by the guest speaker and having a private cocktail party. Will the cruise line seat us together in the dining room, or is that random arrangement?

-- I really can't afford to fly in to Miami a day early and stay at a motel. Is flying in the day of embarkation just a stupid idea and should I just suck it up and fly in early? I really, really don't want to...

-- And finally (for now), a general cruising question: are there smaller cruise lines than Carnival, where you're not on a ship with 3,000 people? I need my downtime, and I'm afraid I'm going to freak out a bit if I have to associate with people 24/7.

I'm sure I'll have more questions later!
Sponsored Links
Old June 23rd, 2008, 08:28 AM
Admiral

Have no fear,,,you're going to have a GREAT time aboard Destiny.