Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > Ask CruiseMates Staff
Register Forgot Password?

Ask CruiseMates Staff Got a question? Our staff will do its best to help.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 21st, 2002, 09:08 AM
Admiral

Send a message via MSN to Jacqueline
Default ID in port of calls

I am a newbie on this board and I read somewhere that cruiseliners take a picture of you when starting a cruise for ID-ing you getting back on the ship scanning your S&S card.

Does this mean for us, being non-US citizins, we do no longer need to take a copy of our passport with us on shore? This for the US-customs close to the ship.
US-citizins show their ID-cards.
Sponsored Links
Old July 21st, 2002, 12:08 PM
Yeoman

Default Re: ID in port of calls

You will probably have to turn your passport over to the cruise line when you check in, to be returned the last day (usually after you've paid your bar bill). You will receive a magnetic card that serves as ship's ID, room key and credit card. The photograph is not universal since the card is usually made before you show up. The card serves as a Visa in the ports you will visit and insures you don't jump ship. With hightened security, you will probably need a photo ID (driver's license) in addition to your ship's ID to leave and reinter the ship. You can spend an obscene amount of money for an ID holder that hangs around your neck in the ship's store, or you can pick one up for pennies before you leave, or just keep the damn things in your pocket hoping you don't lose them.

More than you ever wanted to know.
Old July 21st, 2002, 05:16 PM
Admiral

Default Re: Re: ID in port of calls

Turn your passport over to the cruiseline, to be returned to you on the last night??? This has never happened to me! What cruiseline does this?

Regards,
Thomas
Old July 21st, 2002, 06:16 PM
Admiral

Default Re: Re: Re: ID in port of calls