CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Ask CruiseMates Staff (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/ask-cruisemates-staff/)
-   -   travelling with a guide dog (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/ask-cruisemates-staff/345774-travelling-guide-dog.html)

June Brasgalla January 30th, 2008 05:12 PM

travelling with a guide dog

This is my first post. I want to take a really neat , 4 day cruise, inland from Seattle or Portland..possibly up a river? I will be leaving from Seattle, with a friend who has a seeing eye dog. Anyone want to help out a total novice?

Paul Motter February 23rd, 2008 04:20 PM

Go to Majestic America Lines. I don't know if they allow guide dogs, but they do travel on NW rivers.

The only major cruise line I know that does allow dogs is Cunard, and only on certain voyages. Be sure to ask your travel agent about the dog in very specific terms before you book anything.

Donna February 23rd, 2008 07:29 PM

I was on a Princess ship once where a passenger had a dog, so check them as well.

nlb1050 February 23rd, 2008 08:28 PM

Our cruise on NCL in Oct there was a person who had their service dog with them.

Phil&Liz February 23rd, 2008 09:04 PM

Its nice to know that this persons companion is getting out and about despite their disability.

Its hard to imagine any line not allowing the dog legally but one does have to wonder how the animal is as far as potty training and whether they can go more than overnight without a land "excursion".

We saw a litter box for dogs at the pet store recently so I suppose its possible for the animal to be trained not to make a mess on the Lido deck or in the cabin.

Shipp lingo lends itself to dogs btw...the night shift used to be called the dog watch and when you close a hatch and secure it that is called dog the hatch IIRC.

Phil & Liz

rjburd February 23rd, 2008 09:11 PM