Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > Ask CruiseMates Staff
Register Forgot Password?

Ask CruiseMates Staff Got a question? Our staff will do its best to help.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5th, 2008, 06:16 PM
Beginner

Default Checked Luggage Precautions

Hi,
I am new to cruising. We are on a May NCL Alaska cruise out of Vancouver (I'm Cdn.). As such, I have been doing some research around some questions I have. I have not been able to find much, if anything, on this topic:
I have heard that checked luggage is hand searched (and for this reason, to put stuff in plastic bags).
Is checked luggage hand searched?
Should checked luggage be locked?
Sponsored Links
Old May 5th, 2008, 07:13 PM
Admiral

We always lock our checked luggage. The luggage is xrayed and I have seen dogs sniffing a few.

#36-Carnival Splendor 9/16/12
7 night Mexican Riviera
Retirement Celebration

#37-Allure of the Seas 11/11/12
7 night Eastern Caribbean

#38-Celebrity Solstice 4/8/13
17 night Tahiti -- Sydney-Honolulu
40th Anniversary Celebration

270 days at see; soon to be 302
Old May 5th, 2008, 09:16 PM
Admiral

Send a message via ICQ to misguidedangel

I can't speak for Canada Customs, but homeland Security DOES hand check checked luggage at the airport and at the port. I have first hand experience with this, two out of the three cruises I have taken I have had one of my suitcases checked by HS at the US airport. The buggers can't even pack the goods back in the suitcase nicely to protect what they were searching for (in my case bottles of hot sauce and jerk seasoning). They repacked my bags so poorly a bottle of vanilla I bought started to leak!!

Canadian Customs might not be better, but it is a right royal pain when your bags are checked.

1991 Holiday
2007 Victory & Triumph
2008 Conquest & Liberty
2009 Valor, Freedom, and Splendor
2010 Glory and Liberty
2011 Glory