Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Deals. Cruise Questions and Answers! > Ask CruiseMates Staff
Register Forgot Password?

Ask CruiseMates Staff Got a question? Our staff will do its best to help.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old September 25th, 2008, 09:11 PM
Beginner

Default Grad Student Thesis: How do people book cruises???? HELP ME

Hi Cruisers!

I'm a grad student doing a research project on how people book cruises. I would love to get a sense of the whole process from when you get the idea to cruise to the actual booking and EVERYTHING in between.

Any comments would be extremely helpful. If you want more information please send me a private message.

Information that would be helpful include:
understanding why cruises over traditional vacations?
How did you research your cruise?
How did you book? Did you use an Agent?
What was the most important factors in your decision?

Thank you in advance!!!

Just A GRAD
Sponsored Links
Old September 26th, 2008, 09:28 AM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Donna

Hi Grad,
I think a lot of us do our basic research on the internet, using the cruiseline's web sites, looking for ships and itinaries that meet our time frame. For me, I always book with a travel agent, but by the time I contact one, I already have an idea of the time and a few ships, then get prices and availibility and go from there.

Message Boards Moderator
Old September 26th, 2008, 10:33 AM
Beginner

Thanks for the response Donna!

Your first touch point are cruiseline website. How long do you start the research before you ultimately book? What other sites do you visit?

How do you find a travel agent to book? And do you tend to use the same one for other cruises?

How important are referrals to Agents for you?

What's the most frustrating part of the booking process for you?
Old September 26th, 2008, 02:31 PM
Captain

We have sailed 32 times so our experience may be a bit different from newbies.