Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > Caribbean & Panama Canal
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old January 16th, 2003, 09:18 AM
Tania Rainer

Default Discover DIving Course??

I'm thinking about booking Learn to Dive Resort Course at Abanks in Grand Cayman, has anyone else done this??

It sounds amazing but I've only snorkeled before but always wanted to try diving. I figure I might as well give it a try for $75.00 but I'm still a little nervous.
Is it easy to learn?
Sponsored Links
Old January 16th, 2003, 12:19 PM
bdcbbq

Default Re: Discover DIving Course??

I have no experience but want to try it. I won't hesitate to take a course like this the next time I can. I don't believe any dive instructor wants a person to have a bad experience and will do everything they can to maintain your safety.

If you want some experience check a local YMCA, community college, or local dive shop for an introductory course.

I would go for it. My problem is the flying to get there<G>
Old January 16th, 2003, 06:06 PM
Bubblez

Default Re: Re: Discover DIving Course??

I was nervous my first time too but you WILL LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! Just listen to the instructor they stay close to you the entire dive...don't forget to breath(that's a joke :-) Enjoy
Old January 16th, 2003, 10:23 PM
browezilla

Default Re: Re: Re: Discover DIving Course??

...for comparative purposes, a course to become certified will run you about $400 (inclusive of books, equipment rental, local certification dive, pool time, etc). $75 to try it before you commit $400 to something you may not like (doubtful) doesn't sound too bad.
Old January 17th, 2003, 08:43 PM
Passenger

Try it!