Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > Caribbean & Panama Canal
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 9th, 2004, 11:06 AM
Yeoman

Default Panama Canal questions

I am just beginning to investigate a cruise to the Panama Canal, and have some questions.

Is there a line that does a better job in the Panama Canal? (For example, in Alaska, Princess and HAL get into Glacier Bay most often and have the land tour facilities.) I'm not asking which cruise line I would like best in general. I think I've got a fairly good idea about what each cruise line is like. I'm asking if there are any advantages that one specific line has over the others SPECIFIC TO the Panama Canal. Are there any must do ports? I know I want to do a full transit, but there seems to be a big variation on ports of call before and after the canal.

Also, when is the best time of the year weather wise? In particular, when is the drier season, or when is it less humid? Is it any cooler during some months, or is it too close to the equater for there to be any difference?

Carnival Inspiration
Sponsored Links
Old July 9th, 2004, 01:27 PM
Admiral

Default Re: Panama Canal questions

It would be impossible to answer your question about ships, ports and cruise lines without knowing more about you, your likes and dislikes, wants and needs.
I would go on a ship doing a full transit of the canal. Personally I like Celebrity and again personally I would go on Summit.
It is always hot in the canal zone . How hot is relative. Once you get up to 95 degrees or more with high humidity does it matter? You passage of the canal will likely begin early in the morning. by the time it gets really warm you can adjourn to airconditioned or shaded space to enjoy cruising the canal and lake.