Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > Caribbean & Panama Canal
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 28th, 2004, 03:06 PM
Cruise Maniac

Default Panama Canal cruise during the summer

I would love to go on a Panama Canal cruise, but being a teacher, I can only plan my trips around Christmas, spring break, and during the summer.

I've noticed that there are no cruises to the Panama Canal during the summer months of July thru August. Is there a reason why, or am I not looking at all of my options?
Sponsored Links
Old August 29th, 2004, 01:38 PM
Familiar Face

Default Re: Panama Canal cruise during the summer

My guess would be that most of the cruise lines use the Panama Canal cruise as a repositioning vehicle. They may do several sailings but end up on the "other side". Second guess would be the heat. We went on the Legend of the Seas in February/March and it was hot then! Cheers!
Old August 29th, 2004, 02:39 PM
Cruise Maniac

Thanks for your insight. Your answer brings me to another question. What does the heat have to do with cruising in the Panama Canal? Isn't the heat as hot as in the Caribbean? What would be different between the two?
Old August 29th, 2004, 04:57 PM
Familiar Face

I guess the heat is more of a personal issue for me! ! However, most of the Caribbean ports are beach oriented and there's no beach in the canal. (Tho we had Aruba on one side and Costa Rica on the other). Cheers!
Old August 29th, 2004, 07:55 PM
First Mate

getsemani -

I second your question!! I am a teacher as well. I would LOVE to take a Panama Canal cruise!! But of course we can't take off two weeks (or usually even two days!) during the school year. They seem to be traditionally in October and April-ish. Hubby wants to take one, but won't without me.

If any cruiseline people read this...