Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Destinations > Caribbean & Panama Canal
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March 4th, 2005, 07:16 PM
First Mate

Default What to Do/Belize City?

Going on a cruise this May 05. Belize City, Belize is one of our destinations. For those of you who've been there....what did you do, how did you get there (thru ship or on your own?) and what was it like (good or bad choice)?

This is my first time and I'm planning! Please advise! :o)

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old March 5th, 2005, 05:41 AM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Darcy
Default Re: What to Do/Belize City?

Last year we did the cave tubing and it was great. I booked it through X-Stream. It was $65 plus $5 more a delicious chicken barbeque lunch. This year we're going to Goff's Caye for snorkeling. I booked it through the ship and it was $49/pp.

Monarch of the Seas 3/06
Carnival Inspiration 8/05
Carnival Miracle 4/05
Carnival Inspiration 4/04
Sovereign of the Seas 4/03
Old March 5th, 2005, 07:23 AM
Passenger

There is not much right there in the city. I had always been told not to wander off by ourselves. The city itself is impoverished. There was a little shopping area at the dock with established stores as well as a open market. If you want more culture, get a cab driver to take you out of the city to the zoo.
Old March 5th, 2005, 09:05 AM
ute_fan

I read your other post about Roatan and you mention that you like sight-seeing and cultural activities. My suggestion for a 1st timer to Belize would be to go see the Mayan ruins at Altun Ha. Our 1st time on a cruise was in Jan. 2004, and we ended up taking a ship's excursion to Altun Ha and really enjoyed it.