Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Carnival Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old February 21st, 2005, 01:57 PM
Darla

Default Car Seat

My husband and I are taking our 4yr old daughter on our cruise with us. My question is should we take her a booster seat for the tour rides or cab rides? I know that we are not the only people to take young children with them.

Thanks in advance.
Darla

Sponsored Links
Old February 21st, 2005, 02:51 PM
Beginner

Default Re: Car Seat

As a Car Seat Technician I always recommend parents take their child's seat whenever they travel.

I'm assuming that when you say booster seat you are not talking of a seat w/ a harness in it that converts to a booster, but one that "boosts" the child so they fit into a lap/shoulder belt??

That said... you need to think when you will use it.

Definitely from your house to the airport and then the airport to the hotel and/or ship.

Just for that, it's worth bringing. I know I read a review here a year or so ago where a mom thought they were taking a shuttle from the airport in Miami and didn't bring her young child's seat and they ended up trying to take a taxi... the taxi refused to transport the child.

For excursions... that depends on where you are going and what kind of transport you are using. You can only use the booster in seat belt positions that have both a lap and shoulder belt. Many of the islands have lax laws on seat belts in cars so you may or may not be able to use the seat.

You cannot use the booster seat on the airplane.

If you are envisioning just using the seat to and from the airport I would investigate a low back booster seat. You can get one for $20 or less practically anywhere, it will fit in the overhead compartment on the plane easily (you want to try and avoid checking it) and then throw it in a suitcase or in the closet once you arrive at the ship.

HTH