Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Carnival Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 9th, 2005, 01:37 PM
Passenger

Send a message via AIM to ALB
Default tipping

It is my first time cruising, and I'm afraid I might be looked badly upon when I say I have no intention of tipping on my cruise. Ive already spent enough on this trip, why should I b forced to pay more. Will I be treated badly on board because of this??
Thanks in advance ALB
Sponsored Links
Old July 9th, 2005, 03:01 PM
BDugan

Default Re: tipping

No, you will not be treated badly because the service staff is very professional and hard working.They will still smile when they see you and greet you.They work for very little money and work hard for tips.You will be automaticlly charged 15% on every drink .But you will probably bring your own liquor.I just got back off an 8 day cruise on the Legend .Me,my wife and 2 kids.We left the base tip of 10 dollars a day per person which totaled $320.00 dollars and tipped about 200 more in cash.Plus 15% on all drinks. My Mom was a waitress and I saw how hard she worked and I learned to appreciate good service.When you go to a nice resturaunt ,do you not tip because the meal cost enough?Do what you want but when you are on your cruise pay attention to how friendly and hard working the service people are.Ask them how many hours a day they work and how much they make .Then make your decision.
Old July 9th, 2005, 03:01 PM
Passenger

Most likely you will not get the service that the others will that tip, they will know who you are if your adjust the tip off your sign and sail card. Good luck and please tip the crew they work hard. Now lets say your going on a land vacation and you have togo out to eat do you tip the server. You have only pre paid for your room and the food and entertainment on the cruise not the grats.

Good Luck
Old July 9th, 2005, 03:20 PM