Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Carnival Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 22nd, 2008, 12:39 PM
Passenger

Default Scooters/Motorbikes in Cozumel

We're on the Ecstasy in December and are wanting to rent scooters/motorcyles, etc. We've been to Cozumel before and have seen all the vendor stalls on the highway to the beaches, somewhat interesting characters waiting by these groups on cycles and scooters.

Any advice? Any warnings? Looking for prices and good people to deal with ... AND I have no experience riding a scooter but my husband is an expert motorcyle guy. Help!
Sponsored Links
Old July 22nd, 2008, 01:03 PM
Admiral

Send a message via MSN to Dave the Wave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave the Wave

I have heard warnings of accidents and dangerous roads and drives. This is from Cozumel Insider.

The danger of mopeds on Cozumel cannot be overstated.

The moped rental agencies are, for the most part, located in the downtown area or around the cruise ship piers so availability should not be an issue. However, with the increasing amount of mopeds, pedestrians, bicycles, and cars on Cozumel's narrow streets it is becoming very dangerous to ride mopeds around the island. Be very careful of your surroundings if you choose to rent one, and by all means wear a helmet! IT'S THE LAW!

After an afternoon thunderstorm, the lack of drainage in the streets coupled with the oil on the streets creates a very slick road. It’s not advisable to ride a moped during these conditions.

That is why I made arrangements to rent this for the day! 8)

Read and post cruise reviews

Song of America Dec '90
Starship Majestic May '89
Sovereign X 5
Majesty Jul '01
Enchantment X 4
Regal Empress Dec '02
Sensation '04
Mariner May '07 April '08
Grandeur Feb '08
Inspiration Oct '08
Radiance of the Seas Oct '10
Old July 22nd, 2008, 01:07 PM
Admiral