Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Carnival Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 16th, 2009, 03:09 PM
Beginner

Default Catalina Island snorkeling?!

Hi all! I'm brand new to this, going on my first cruise in a few weeks (just a little 3 day-er). My question is (and sorry if this has been answered, i looked and didnt see anything):
Can I go snorkeling on my own, without a tour or pre-booked "excursion"? I have my own gear and everything already, I've been snorkeling a ton of times (in Maui), but I don't want to break any rules, or end up paying a bunch of unexpected fees.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old July 17th, 2009, 02:50 PM
Admiral

In a word, no. Most of the isand is protected widlife habitat. Plus, the only access to the water from the downtown area is a heavily used and murky beach. The harbor is crowded with boats and ships. The only way to snorkel is via a tour. And they have a limited number of the small diving boats so sign up in advance.
All snorkeling is done from the waist of the island, which is only accessible by boat. There used to be a beach inbetween where you might be able to snorkel, but I don't know if it is still there or if there was anything to see. I would google the island to find out.
Also, the Arctic current flows down the coast and heads out to sea near there. The water is COLD. You will definitely need a wetsuit. They rent them...do it. But, the boat ride out and back can be a lot of fun. I have some old photo's of a pod of dolphins playing with us in our little rubber dinghy, on the way back home.
Marty
Old July 18th, 2009, 12:49 PM
Beginner