Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Carnival Cruise Lines
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old December 29th, 2010, 10:46 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Default Cancellations on Carnival Splendor

I booked a group of 60 people on the Carnival Splendor over a year ago for a Jan 9th 2011 sailing. Then along comes the fire.
Our cruise was canceled, so I rebooked on the Splendor for Feb 6th after a week of arguing with Carnival over the price. Then our Feb 6th cruise was canceled. I gave up on the Splendor and moved my group to the Liberty out of Miami after another week of arguing with Carnival over pricing. Their offer of a 25% discount was a joke; they raised the prices on everything so the discount didn’t matter. I wrote an email to Carnival and they sent me a rubber stamp reply saying “sorry”. I have been booking a group each year for 11 years and Carnival acted like they couldn’t care less. I realize that my groups of 50 to 70 people are a drop in the bucket compared to the 3000 or so people on the ship, but over the years I’ve booked a considerable number of people with Carnival and my loyalty didn’t mean squat to them. I have never sailed on anything but Carnival, but this experience has made me rethink my loyalty to them.
Sponsored Links
Old December 29th, 2010, 12:58 PM
Admiral

Send a message via Yahoo to Luanne Russo

I am sorry you had this experience with your cruises. I am waiting to see what the changes will be in the coming year with Carnival. Times are getting tough all over, and changes will most likely have to be made.

As you know, what happened with the splender was not expected, or wanted by Carnival. They took future bookings thinking that all would be well by then. The discount has always been a question of worth.

I hope that you will hold on to your faith in Carnival for a little while longer, and hope they get things together in the coming years.

Good Luck