CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Carnival Cruise Lines (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/carnival-cruise-lines/)
-   -   Multiple discounts (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/carnival-cruise-lines/389953-multiple-discounts.html)

tobytovar June 14th, 2012 02:41 PM

Multiple discounts

I have heard that several cruise lines offer a discount for veterans with a copy of their DD214. Does Carnival give such a discount and can you combine that with other discounts such as over 55 and repeat cruisers?

Master Chief June 14th, 2012 03:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tobytovar (Post 1433030)
I have heard that several cruise lines offer a discount for veterans with a copy of their DD214. Does Carnival give such a discount and can you combine that with other discounts such as over 55 and repeat cruisers?

I am a 30 year Navy vet, over 55, Florida resident and a past cruiser with Carnival. I use a Carnival Personal Vacation Planner for my cruises. (yea, yea, I now some of you prefer a Travel Agent but so far I have been satisfied:D). She always checks all catagories and finds the cheapest. But, I can only get one discount not a multiple discount. I think that is the norm. But if I book an Early Saver with the vet rate being the cheapest at the time of booking and keep checking weekly (as I do) and a different discount (say past cruiser) is cheaper she will switch me to that rate. Hope this answers your question.

Snoozeman June 14th, 2012 04:24 PM

Yes they do, but it's not available on every sailing. You can only book in one category and Past guest, Over 55, and Military are categories so you can only choose one.

It can be used with various shareholder, FCC's, and other discounts though. Carnival is very good about this as you can not combine with Royal Caribbean.

buttons16 June 14th, 2012 06:41 PM

I am a Army veteran however no discount..I am not 55...well thats a good thing also...