Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Chit - Chat for Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Chit - Chat for Cruisers Open Forum for non-cruise posts. Please refrain from inflammatory rhetoric that could be considered offensive. We reserve the right to edit or delete for any reason.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 31st, 2004, 12:58 AM
cwg

Default Captain questions

I'm new here so I hope this isn't too weird to ask....

I've only cruised three times but absolutely love everything about cruising. I am an author and am starting work on a new novel which will be set on a cruise ship. I just read a book by someone else that was set on a cruise ship but it was obvious the author had done little or no research and the book suffered greatly because of it. So I hope readers of this board can help me with some questions I'm trying to answer.

What "free time" does the ship's captain have during a cruise?
Can the captain leave the ship while in port and do touristy things?
Are there restrictions on how much "fratrinizing" the captain does with passengers?
How much of the captain's time is actually spent piloting the ship? How much is spent handling administrative duties? How much time is spent handling "social" duties (hosting, etc.)
What are the captain's quarters like? Does he have an office on board?
Does the captain ever hang out "incognito" in passenger areas during his "off duty" time? Or must he always be in uniform while on the ship?
Where do the ships' officers generally eat their meals? I understand that some of the officers take turns "hosting" a table in the passenger dining rooms but where do they eat when they're not doing this? And how often during a cruise would the various officers be required to host a table?