Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Chit - Chat for Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Chit - Chat for Cruisers Open Forum for non-cruise posts. Please refrain from inflammatory rhetoric that could be considered offensive. We reserve the right to edit or delete for any reason.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 9th, 2002, 03:55 PM
Admiral

Default Cruise Price Fluctuation Formulas???

I have been on over ten cruises, so I'm not a beginner but also am not close to being an "expert." Our next cruise is 12-22-02 on the Zenith in So.America, Buenos Aires, Argentina to Valparaiso, Chile.

I have watched the prices on my cruise fluctuate up and down over the last few months. I was able to catch a pretty good price for this double holiday sailing, before they went back up to nearly brochure rack rates. I still am very confused by the almost daily price fluctuations. It is almost as inexplainable to me as the daily price changes in the airline industry.

I am sure, that some computer GEEK somewhere in cyberspace has written a computer formula that controls capacity on a charge-what-the-market-will-bare basis. I somewhat understand this theory, although I don't agree with it.

I don't think it is fair to customers, whose deposit money has been used by the cruise line, to essentially be treated as second class citizens after they have made their final payment. Often after this date, empty space is dumped at less than wholesale prices to "new bookings only" bargain shoppers. Often these late comers get nicer cabins at cheaper rates, while others have fronted the cruise with their deposits and/or final payments. Meanwhile the cruise lines often, not always, refuse to lower the tariff for these bread-and-butter clients that booked early.