Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Chit - Chat for Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Chit - Chat for Cruisers Open Forum for non-cruise posts. Please refrain from inflammatory rhetoric that could be considered offensive. We reserve the right to edit or delete for any reason.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old December 5th, 2005, 11:24 AM
Passenger

Default Pricing on cruises

Hi, All. I'm new to the "cruise research". We're toying with a transatlantic crossing to make our move from England back to America. It looks like the QM2 is the only way to go (are there other ships making this crossing? Would I want to be on them?)

Our family is large, 5 kids ranging from 11 yrs-18mos. I received the following information in response to a query from one of the cruisemates.com links:

Firstly as you are probably aware there aren't any cabins that will take 7 of you. The best option would be two interconnecting cabins. The starting grade with these types of cabin is a D5 grade, inside cabin.
This would then mean booking 4 in one cabin and 3 in the other, Cunard however do calculate this as two bookings rather than one, this means that the first two in each cabin will be charged as adults then any children sharing with them will pay the child rate, the 18 month year old is free.
Working on the 29th May cruise as an example you would pay £935 for 4 people, £719 for 2 children and 7th is free.

Are these numbers per person? The way it is written looks like we would only pay a total of 1654 GBP (around $3000). Even after the exchange rate, it's incredibly cheap. Of course, if it's per person, then it's closer to $10,000, which seems more likely.