Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Chit - Chat for Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Chit - Chat for Cruisers Open Forum for non-cruise posts. Please refrain from inflammatory rhetoric that could be considered offensive. We reserve the right to edit or delete for any reason.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 9th, 2008, 11:18 PM
Admiral

Default Oil Speculaters, the root of all evil?

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/25612414/

I am far from an expert regarding economics, but I got the letter this article referred to earlier today and it really got me to thinking. Is this really the cause of our skyrocketing oil prices? I really want to know what the Cruisemates Braintrust thinks about this. I think we have some really smart folks that hang out around here and would love it if some of you would share your thoughts on this issue.
Sponsored Links
Old July 10th, 2008, 12:26 AM
Admiral

Speculators can trade contracts all they want; still, in the end, someone has to take delivery of the oil. As long as the recipient is willing to pay the price, the market is driven by supply and demand. However, if the end user decides the price has been bid too high and decides to refuse to pay, then you end up like the Hunt Brothers where speculators got their comeuppance [sp]. I have a friend who got caught up in the Silver speculation and ended up taking delivery and storing silver for decades until the price recovered. I don't know many oil speculators that want to take delivery and store millions of barrels of oil.