Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Chit - Chat for Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Chit - Chat for Cruisers Open Forum for non-cruise posts. Please refrain from inflammatory rhetoric that could be considered offensive. We reserve the right to edit or delete for any reason.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old July 15th, 2013, 12:20 AM
Admiral

Default Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf or other input please

I'm a girl okay I know nothing about cars. Except they cost a lot and I have to put gas in them. So my car started acting funny and not in a good way. Being a California resident I can get a rebate for getting either a Chevy Volt or a Nissan Leaf, both cars qualify for the carpool lane and both qualify for a $7,500 tax credit. So between these two cars which would you chose and why? Or should I be looking at a different car? Thanks for your help.

Freedom of the Seas 2012
Carnival Splendor 2010
Carnival Freedom 2008
Carnival Elation 2007
Celebrity Infinity 2006
Carnival Ecstasy 2005
Carnival Paradise 2004
Star Princess 2002
Viking Serenade 1994
Sponsored Links
Old July 15th, 2013, 09:07 AM
Administrator
Admiral

Personally, for the money, I would consider a Prius Plug-in, Focus Hybrid or even a Lexus Hybrid.

The cost of the Volt is high and the $7500 tax is good but not great.

The LEAF is an issue since it is a totally electric car. If you run out of charge you are out of luck. There is also a problem with battery memory and the batteries are not made for high heat or cold. They are basically worthless in northern climates. At 0 degrees Fahrenheit they will lose half of their battery capacity.

If you have to get a Volt or LEAF, I would go with the Volt but it would be a "have to" situation. Hopefully, battery technology will improve in the next few years to make the all electric car more affordable and practical.