Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old June 30th, 2004, 10:37 AM
Lakota

Default Officer positions

What kind of experience is required to be an officer? I have an MBA and interact daily with people. Is there a pay comparison at the officer level for different cruise lines? If so, can someone post it?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Old July 1st, 2004, 07:50 AM
experiance captain

Default Re: Officer positions

your best bet to be accepted on a cruise ship vessel would be to go to another country that has a higher payscale or cost of living.right now the cruise industry saves millions by hiring foriegners from out of the country.low wages and no unemployment benefits
are given to them.they are contracted out of their country for 6 to9 months out of each year.if they break their contract by behavior or disapline or poor work,they have to pay their way back and forfeit their rest of pay back to the cruise line.its not likely for an american to be seen working on a cruise ship?except if you were a cruise director.
the pay sucks.no american would survive on that.keep this in mind..happy trails
been there,done that!!!!!!
Old July 1st, 2004, 09:46 AM
Cruise Maniac

Default Re: Officer positions

don't listen- that's not true, sure pay is not always wonderful but you get room and board and get to travel the world and meet thousands of ppl- great experience!
If your heart is set on it then go!
There are plenty of canadians'americans, etc.. working on board! People from the third worlds are often found in the serving and hospitality departments.
Old September 17th, 2006, 04:59 PM
Cruise Maniac