Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old November 7th, 2006, 03:39 PM
Beginner

Default Cruise job

Hi everyone,

I'm seriously thinking of getting a job on a cruise. I have many years of working experience in a hotel. I was a Reception Manager in a five-star hotel before I quit my job in Feb this year. I'd love to work in the hotel department of a cruise which is of the same calibre. Wonder what position on a cruise would be similar to that. I realised the hotel department of a cruise do not have such position and most are entry-level positions (i.e. as a JAP or Receptionist) .My questions are as follows:

- Is it wise to apply for either entry-level position mentioned above although it seems like I'm overqualified?
- Would this be a good way to explore what it's like to work on a cruise and explore the organization chart and other avenues and how the various departments work?
-Do you know of anyone who had been in more or less the same situation as me and started off a cruise job from the bottom level and moved his way up?
- Should I try more than one position on the same cruise at the same time?

I'm sorry..I DO have plenty of other questions to ask but the ones above need to be answered first

I really appreciate your kind help on this matter. Thanks very much!

Best Wishes,
-R
Sponsored Links
Old November 7th, 2006, 04:48 PM
Beginner