Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old January 10th, 2007, 05:07 AM
Beginner

Send a message via AIM to Lippa
Default Best position for someone with hotel supervisory experience?

I currently hold the Front Desk Supervisor position at a Marriott Suites hotel. I am looking to make the switch to a cruise job but am unsure of the best position to apply for. I have a degree in hospitality management, have worked for Marriott for about a year and a half, and have four years of prior sales experience. That said, here are my questions:

1. What position can I apply for and realistically expect to be hired? (To narrow the choices, I would like a position similar to my current land job)

2. As someone with the "spirit to serve" and complete job dedication as core values, I expect my associates (and myself) to go above and beyond as a standard. Are there cruise lines that are better suited to perfectionists?

3. I understand cruise lines prefer single people that have few land-based attachments. Since I fall in that catagory, should I reference that in a cover letter, say in an interview, or not say at all?

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide. I also welcome any suggestions you may have on topics I did not ask about
Sponsored Links
Old January 10th, 2007, 06:18 AM
Passenger

Hi Lippa I'm not really an expert on the Cruise Ship Industry but I would maybe advise that you apply for a Purser Position or Assistant Purser. You can usually get a description of the job requirements etc on most cruise line websites. I'll have a look on some of the sites & copy one in here for you at some point this morning.