CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Crewmembers (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/crewmembers/)
-   -   steiner hairstylist (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/crewmembers/330551-steiner-hairstylist.html)

heather0x March 25th, 2007 04:29 PM

steiner hairstylist

I just got hired as a hairstylist with Steiner. I leave for my training next Friday. I still don't know what cruise line I will be working on. I've read most of the posts on here and I haven't come across very much info regarding the salon and hairstylists. I was wondering if anyone had any info like, hours the salon is open, how many stylists on board, is the work mostly updos and blowdrys, what privledges stylists have, would i be in a room with someone else that works in the spa/salon, and just anything in general.
Any information you guys have would be greatly appreciated, as I am just 21 and this is my first time travelling outside of Canada!

Thanks so much
Heather

BeenThere March 25th, 2007 09:24 PM

This is a bit of a guess - but I would think that your entitlements would be very close to that of any shoppie. Good luck on your first time at sea!

BabyD March 26th, 2007 07:12 PM

There are some ships you have to be over 23 and 25 to go on, i know under 21s (i am 19) are limited to Costa, Carnival and Royal Caribbean..

You wont get told your ship until you get details about 2/3 days before you go. you may be in training a few weeks, you may be in there up to six weeks. girls i was with that were hairdressers were still there at 5 weeks..

You get 1.5 days off per week (not all same day) and it depends on the ship your privileges..

Big ships have between 5 - 20 spa staff, smaller ships have between 3 - 10

heather0x March 26th, 2007 08:35 PM