Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 11th, 2007, 03:36 PM
Beginner

Default New Hire--example contract for musician?

Hi, I am a musician and recently was hired for work in a couple of months on board a large cruise ship for Celebrity Cruises. I have not seen a contract containing the details of my engagement and obligations, but I have supposedly been processed into the system and filled out some generic paper work with my employment dates and ship assignment. I have read that sometimes you will not see the full contract to sign until right before "deployment", but I am aching to know what I should watch out for in the contract to make sure it is included and how to go about making sure it is in there given a short window of notice. This question is especially for other musicians/entertainers of this nature who have experience with this. Here is my checklist:

--hours of performance including how many sets per day (can this or should this be specified in the contract? btw, I am in a trio, not a showband, and am playing in a lounge/bar)

--equipment provided (I was told most equipment could be provided but was curious if I should make an effort to have this in the contract, or if it isn't a big deal.)

--Extra Crew Duties (I was told that this would include safety drills for the most part...anything I should be weary of or watch out for or be sure to include in the contract regarding this?)

--Health Insurance (was told it would be provided, so I am assuming I should watch for it in the final contract).

--Anything else?? Am I forgetting something or should I know of something else to look out for? The ship assignment and dates have already been put into writing.

Thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Old August 11th, 2007, 06:21 PM
Passenger