Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old December 6th, 2007, 01:14 PM
Cruise Maniac

Default Computer Systems Manager / Informations Systems Officer

Hi,

Stumbled across this excellent forum while browsing for information on Cruise line recruitment.
I'm an IT professional currently working in the Airline Industry, and have decided I would like to move into another arena of the travel industry.

I've done a fair bit of searching the various cruise line websites and have found a few different positions advertised. I have to say some of the ad's at best are pretty vague. Some positions seem to refer in the title to you being a Manager, when the job description mentions nothing that really relates to a "Manager" type position other than just managing the equipment on board, rather than a department or staff.

Anyway I have a few questions which I hope someone on here can answer or at least assist with

1. Are the IT Manager roles, actually management roles or is it more a case that you are just another set of hands . It doesnt bother me as I have as much experience doing support and admin as I do management, and I'm very hands on, but it would help to understand so that I can adjust my CV appropriately.

2. Off the back of question one then, if there is a distinction between manager and support/admin staff, which type of position is in more demand/ has higher turnover?

3. Are all the recruitment agencies that ask for money scammers?? So far most of what I read seems to say yes, but just want to check here.

4. Have people got better responses when applying directly or via the recruitment agencies? Some cruise sites just say they will pass your info onto another recruitment company anyway.

5. Any tips as to key skills, technology that is in particular demand would be useful.