Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 9th, 2008, 08:58 AM
Familiar Face

Default lighting technicians

I am still in college, but I am a lighting designer. I graduate next year and want to work on a cruise ship. I know that they have new equipment and many shows. How difficult is it to get an entry level job on a cruise line doing this. Is it 12 hour days? Any and all comments are welcome. Also advise on which cruise lines are the best.
Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Old August 9th, 2008, 09:26 AM
First Mate

if you get the chance, check out the forum at backstagejobs
http://traproom.com/ - in the "getting work" section, there's a thread going about cruise ship tech work.

Lighting techs are a needed commodity! you do need to be able to program quickly (my line uses Hog 2 & 3's) and be able to bench and repair any fixture in your rig.

Can be a 12 hour day or more if a show or cast is getting installed - or a tech heavy act comes in, but I'd say 6-8 hours is more the norm if your rig is in good condition.

"Best" lines? That's subjective . . but the 'big' lines generally have the latest in toys and gear and the older the ship, the more you need to be up on repairs. Many techs will go for a line where they can get a cabin to themselves (not sharing with another)
Old August 9th, 2008, 06:26 PM
Familiar Face

Thanks for the info. I don't have any experience with hogs. Will they train you onboard? Also, I am female. Do you think this would hinder them from hiring me?
Old August 9th, 2008, 08:18 PM
First Mate