Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old January 5th, 2011, 11:10 PM
Welcome Newcomer

Post Employment questions not typically answered

Hello everybody!

I've been trying to find as much information on ship employment as possible and have found some useful notes but no particulars.

I know the hours, bunking, mess details but not much on salary, which cruise lines are most desirable to work for, etc..

I am currently living in Oklahoma, enrolling in a local community college to further my skills in photography, writing and hospitality. I will also be researching information for massage therapy.

I have plenty of retail experience and would be quite comfortable working retail while aboard the ship but wouldn't pay be higher in the other areas mentioned above? Well, not writing, that's more of a personal study, but I figure the pay rate must be a bit higher as a masseuse or photographer... am I correct in assuming so?

This is something I am very interested in but I would like to know about how much I would be making before I dedicate a bunch of time to something that will not pay my mortgage and utilities, you know? And so far I cannot find any numbers.

I was also wondering how slack time was in the two mentioned areas of employment. Same down time during port or is there still a high level of activity needed for them?

I want to work, and travel, but I completely understand the lack of free time I will have, was just curious about it.

Another thing I was wondering about was the policy on facial piercings (a monroe and labret to be exact), is it a no-go or have any of you seen fellow employees with 'em? Or clear retainers even?