Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old October 12th, 2011, 09:54 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Default Shipboard Photographer

Hey every one! I'm applying for the shipboard photog position and was wondering if anyone else had experience in this position? I have fashion, event, and wedding experience that goes on for 5+ years so I know I have the photo skills that they are looking for. I also have a degree in commercial photography. What is a typical day for a ship photographer? If anyone was or knew a photographer on board a ship please let me know there experience! I'm going to a job fair tomorrow and would love to be offered a spot onboard a ship. Any stories or advice I will be grateful for! Thank you all!
Sponsored Links
Old October 12th, 2011, 02:55 PM
Familiar Face

Hi

I worked as a photographer aboard P&O ships so i'll see if i can help! The first thing i'd say is the hours are very long! A typical port day would start around 30 mins before arrival in port, around 7am where we would get ready to shoot the passengers disembarking at the port on the gangway. The challenge was getting the passengers who were getting off the ship to get on tour buses or explore port to stop and get their photo taken. This was quite difficult on day 1 but near impossible by the last port when the passengers were sick of seeing us! So you do gangway for about 3 hours, or until you have a decent enough rollage and can come in (even in the cold, wind and rain!) The good news is because it's a port day the photo gallery cant open until the ship sails so you get the afternoon off to see the port, Catch up on sleep or go on a passenger tour with the video camera to film for the cruise dvd they sell at the end of the cruise.