Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old December 22nd, 2011, 01:18 PM
Welcome Newcomer

Red face Environmental Officer Info

I was wondering if any of you can help me out with what is required to get a position as an Environmental Officer.

I have been working in the environmental field for over 4 years doing environmental cleanup of marinas, beaches, gas stations, oil fields, rail yards and numerous other commercial and industrial properties, along with this, I obtained some waste management experience. I have a degree from a university in Canada and have my professional designation with specialty in the environment from the association of engineers and geologists (also in Canada). I am Canadian but am currently living in Europe. I have done a lot of traveling, have lived in numerous countries, and speak English, French and Spanish. So I am wondering if I would have any chance at getting this position as I do not have any formal officer training or a degree from a marine academy etc.

I am also wondering (with respect to this position):
• which company is best to work for?
• any information on the living conditions?
• would I get any days off in port or would I need to be at the dock?
• is this mostly a male dominated group- how would a female be treated?
• would a spouse/significant other be able to visit and stay in my cabin or would they have to work on the ship to get to do so?
• is this position always a 3 months on 3 months off rotation?
• would they fly me to my hometown for time off or just the closest major city?
• how frequent are storms?