Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 2nd, 2012, 03:16 PM
Welcome Newcomer

Default Personal Trainer vs Massage Therapist

I am attending a program that will certify me as both a massage therapist (2200 hours) and a personal trainer with a group fitness license. Would I be wiser to work on a cruise ship as a trainer or a therapist. I am terrified of stories I've heard of therapists who work for Steiner... however I do not know if Steiner will hire me as a personal trainer because I've had no personal training experience, only group fitness instruction experience.

If I am going to apply with Steiner, which of my skills should I apply with?
Or... is there another company that hires fitness professionals/massage therapists ( I cannot find any).

THanks
Em
Sponsored Links
Old May 2nd, 2012, 05:40 PM
Captain

In speaking to the massage therapists about the cruise ships, Steiner does not hire male massage therapists for cruises. I was told most women feel uncomfortable with a male and males want women to give them a massage.
Personally, I like massages from males as they don't usually have to elbow you so hard, marks appear!
Inspiration -09/05
Mariner-05/06 & 10/09
Century-01/07
Crown-04/07
Liberty-11/07
Explorer-08/08
Insignia-11/08
Destiny-07/09
Oasis Inaugural Cruise-12/09
Monarch-03/10 & 07/10
Equinox-08/10
Freedom-02/2012
Mariner; RSS- 10/12
Jewel-12/12 b2b
Independence-12/13
Enchantment- 01/14
Legend-TA- 04/14

Booked:Freedom OTS 10/14
Booked:Solstice Alaska; 09/15

Old May 10th, 2012, 12:18 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Hi emmy,

From what I've heard, working for Steiner can be tough, mostly in the way of hours. And hours for trainers can be just as brutal as hours for massage therapists.