Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old June 5th, 2012, 11:02 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Default A few questions.

Greetings!

I've lurked these forums for quite some time. I've decided it was time to post.

I'm currently a federal employee working for the Department of Veteran Affairs. I'm a trainer, dealing mostly with adult learning/ISD.

I noticed there are a few trainer positions listed at various cruise lines. My question to everyone here is, besides work experience, education, and positive references... What else should I try to include on my cv/resume to show that I can perform to the best of my ability? Do they care about things such as an active security clearance?

From what I've read on this forum is that the "extra stuff" is just as important. The ability to live away from home, work long hours, etc.

Thanks you in advanced for any advice you may offer!
Sponsored Links
Old June 6th, 2012, 05:43 AM
First Mate

It depends on the position that you are applying and which cruise line that you are applying.

When I applied with NCL, the company wanted basic crew members to work in their galley as either a janitor or dishwasher. The only requirement is that you have a clean criminal record and can pass a drug test so you can get both your TWIC and MMC cards.

The hardest part of the application process for me was running around collecting paper work for the background check and since I have a clean record I got a position with the cruise ship and will ship out in a matter of days.

If you have an active security clearance and a clear background you should not have any problem finding work on a ship.

Good luck.

Old June 6th, 2012, 07:26 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beetlegator View Post