Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old January 7th, 2014, 10:26 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Question HR expericence

Hey guys, newbie here.

So, I started the process with Carnival and Princess (got called back for both) to work as HR Manager on board. I'm curious to know where you stand with the HR department. Do you think they are useless? Beneficial for the crew? A bunch of overpaid clowns?

Have you had previous experience working with or in that department? I kinda know what to expect if I'm hired as I know couple people working in HR for other cruise lines but yeah, I'm curious to know the general feeling regarding the on-board HR department.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old January 7th, 2014, 01:22 PM
Administrator
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Paul Motter

I think that you will find it can be a pretty challenging job.

Cruise Lines take care of the medical and dental health of their crewmembers, so you will be coordinating a lot of office visits. Then there will be flights home for emergencies, etc.

I mean, how many jobs have the employees living on site?

Good luck. I hope you love your new job, and congratulations on your callbacks.

Old January 7th, 2014, 09:47 PM
First Mate

I've found that the crew's perception of HR really depends on whether the HR manager is more proactive towards the crew vs management - I've seen both.

You'll be one of the few people (along with the captain, staff captain, chief engineer and hotel director) that truly impact the day to day life and welfare of the crew.

Just being hired, you've got the background and experience on the training/corporate HR side - but as Paul said, it's having all your employees LIVE within their workplace for months on end. 50+ countries, languages, cultures, hygiene habits . . . .