Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Crewmembers
Register Forgot Password?

Crewmembers If you work on a ship or have in the past

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old January 16th, 2014, 05:57 AM
Welcome Newcomer

Default Making the ship feel more like home.

Hello everyone!

So, I've been working as a crew member for about 4 years now, always doing contracts of 3 months at the most with nice breaks in between.
About to go on my 9th contract, and would like to change some things to make life on board a bit more 'normal'.

As a lot of crew members know, most cruise ships change people whilst they're on board. I for example, don't drink or party when I'm at home, but on the ship I'm this completely different person. I'm a bit tired of that. It's not as bad as when I just started working on ships, but it's still not the way I want things to be.

I'm fortunate enough to have my own cabin on the ship. Do you guys have any advice on how to 'pimp your cabin' a little? I don't mean starting a brothel from my cabin, but just making it feel a bit more like home.
I love having my own bed linen for example. And thinking of getting some LED wax candles, that look just like normal candles, are batterie operated and even flicker. Some fake plants or flowers. Anything to make it look less like a cabin, and more like a 1 room miniature apartment ;-) Are there more ideas amongst you guys?