Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Cruise Cuisine
Register Forgot Password?

Cruise Cuisine Recipes or cruise food and drinks

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old February 13th, 2007, 05:13 PM
Passenger

Send a message via AIM to Rfujitani
Default a question re: corkage fees

Not only am I new to cruising, I'm also relatively new to the world of wine. Now that I've seen some threads about bringing your own wine aboard a ship, I had a more general question regarding corkage fees.

This actually pretty much applies to all corkage fees in general:
For those of you more experienced afficionados, what exactly are you paying for when you pay such a fee?

Is it sort of a way for the restaurant/ship to say, "Hey, if you're not gonna drink our wine, then we're just gonna charge you to be able open and drink your own." ?

I've always wondered because corkage fees have always seemed ridiculously high to me.
Old February 14th, 2007, 10:15 AM
Admiral

Hi there,

I think corkage fees are on all cruise lines. I know Carnival charges $15 corkage. OK.. I know thats high but when you see the prices per bottle.. you won't complain much. I would have a glass of wine with dinner and got charged $8 - $10 a glass depending on the wine. Two glasses and you've already hit the fee. At least with your own bottle, your saving yourself a couple of bucks. We ended up buying a bottle one night for dinner and it cost us $40. I buy the same stuff at home and I know I only pay $15 for it. Its like this at any decent dry land establishment you go to. They always jack up the price on wine.

Life is too short to let the ship of your dreams sail without you.

Carnival Destiny Feb. 2006
Carnival Fascination Feb. 2007
Royal Caribbean Grandeur of the Seas Feb. 2008 The DTW & MsBJ tour
Carnival Valor MsBJ and Dina Feb. 2009
Carnival Glory MsBJ and Dina Feb. 2010
Carnival Dream MsBJ and Dina Feb. 2011
Old February 14th, 2007, 02:18 PM
Passenger