Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Cruise Cuisine
Register Forgot Password?

Cruise Cuisine Recipes or cruise food and drinks

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March 5th, 2008, 07:18 PM
Admiral

Default How To Lose Weight Before Your Cruise

I was a personal trainer for many years in the health and fitness industry. There is a proven way to lose body fat, but it requires a little work on your part.

And notice I said “body fat�, not weight. Weight isn’t important, the percentage of your body’s weight that’s fat, is.

This is a multi-step process, one with which you will lose 1-2 pounds of body fat per week.

Step 1: Get a body fat analysis done, to determine your body fat percentage. Within this report should be a basal metabolism rate. Your body’s BMR is basically how many calories your body burns while at rest, for one day. You can get a body fat analysis at many health clubs, hospitals, clinics, universities, and sports training facilities.

Step 2: Add to your BMR the caloric value of your daily activities. Or to keep it simple, your body fat analysis should have a chart listing calories expended for sedentary, moderately active, and very active, for your body weight. This caloric expenditure figure is how many calories you burn each day. This is the starting number on your way to losing body fat.

Step 3: Consult with your physician, and with his or her OK, begin lifting weights. Weight bearing exercise is the most efficient method of burning calories. The exercise itself burns few calories – but your body’s response to the exercise burns a great deal of calories. In a nutshell, every 1 pound of muscle you add to your body burns an extra 100 calories per day, every day. If you were to add 5 pounds of muscle, you’d burn an extra 500 calories per day, every day. A significant amount, which you will see next.