CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums

CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/)
-   Cruise Dress / Packing (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/cruise-dress-packing/)
-   -   PackMate? (http://www.cruisemates.com/forum/cruise-dress-packing/293800-packmate.html)

ames February 20th, 2002 03:12 PM

PackMate?

I saw a post somewhere recommending PackMate bags, so I ordered their "family pack" for $39 online. Just received them. Am I missing something or are these bags just simple ziploc bags with a small air opening at the other end? Can't believe I spent $39 for ziploc bags. Do they really work? They claim to reduce your packing space considerably by squeezing out all the air in these special bags. I know I'm a newbie, but now I feel stupid too!

Robocop February 20th, 2002 03:32 PM

Re: PackMate?

Do they work? Yes. Are they worth the $39? Let's just say that I expressed my opinion of my wife's intellect quite firmly when they arrived here and I found out what she did. 'Nuff said.
Jim

ames February 20th, 2002 05:25 PM

that's why I intend to tell my husband they were a "gift from my Mom"!

aj February 20th, 2002 06:17 PM

I received those from my mother in-law as a gift and I was thinking about using them to pack for our next cruise in April but then again I was thinking with the new security issues. If I suck the life out of my clothes and carry them onto the flight what happens if I am the lucky one who gets choosen to get searched? Do you think I could barrow a vacuum cleaner to suck the life out of them again so I can close my bag? I doubt it.

Pam February 20th, 2002 08:58 PM

we used these on our cruise to Alaska as we needed to carry warm clothes, they were excellant!!! Ours did not require vaccum, just roll the air out through the one way valves. I did not pay that much for my 5 bags from QVC!!!

pamda February 21st, 2002 10:55 AM