Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Practical Advice > Cruise Dress / Packing
Register Forgot Password?

Cruise Dress / Packing Recommendations for the best clothes for traveling on ships

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old November 11th, 2002, 06:52 PM
cynthia

Default cruisemate needed

This is my first time on a cruise, most likely it will be alone but I'm seriously considering placing an ad for a mid-30's female to share. Does anyone have an opinion/experience w/this? I'd appreciate your input.
Sponsored Links
Old November 11th, 2002, 08:09 PM
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Donna
Default Re: cruisemate needed

Hi Cynthia,
I haven't had any first hand expierence with sharing a cabin, but have heard both good and bad situations. I think if it means cruising or not, I'd go with a cabin-mate. If you do decide to try to find someone to share a cabin, you can post in these message boards, its just for that:
http://www.cruisemates.com/MBindex/companion.cfm

Message Boards Moderator
Old November 22nd, 2002, 09:28 PM
Admiral

Cynthia,

If you are arranging your own roommate, definitely go someplace for a weekend where you will share a hotel room before you book a cruise. There's no escape from a cruise ship, and you'll be miserable if the arrangement does not work out for any reason.

The alternative is to book through the cruise line's "guaranteed share" program -- which means that the cruise line attempts to find a roommate of the same sex and same smoking preference for you. If the cruise line fails to make a match, you still pay the double occupancy fare. With this arrangement, the cruise line bears some responsibility if the match does not work and thus will do something to resolve the problem. (There usually is a spare cabin for emergency use somewhere, even on a ship that's sold out.)

Norm.
Old February 4th, 2003, 12:08 AM
First Mate

Default Re: Re: cruisemate needed