Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Cruise Jokes & Trivia - Just For Laughs
Register Forgot Password?

Cruise Jokes & Trivia - Just For Laughs Share cruise trivia or jokes: Registered Users Only

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old March 24th, 2010, 11:37 AM
Admiral

Default On This Day In Music

I am a contributor to an online music board .I post trivia questions as well as music facts .One of the things I do is :On This Day In Music .

March 24 :

Mike Kellie (Spooky Tooth ) born in 1947

Elvis Presley inducted into the army in 1958
Sponsored Links
Old March 24th, 2010, 02:51 PM
Administrator
Admiral

Send a message via AIM to Paul Motter

As an avid musician myself I am often found on guitar playing boards, etc. Do you play any intruments?

I am actually in the process of working on a new song (when I have free time) right now, I have protools studio here in my office.

You have give kudos to Elvis for paying his debt to duty. These days a celebrity would probably find a way to get out of the draft (assuming we ever needed one again).

Not many public figures actually make such statements anymore, they find a way to make themselves the exception to the rule. In fact, Elvis wanted to get out of it, but Col Tom Parker insisted he had to go.

It's funny, young people now just don't get it, but back then you didn't even question your duty to country, you just did what they said you had to do. I was all hippie all the way, but somehow I think the pendulum has swung too far.
Old March 24th, 2010, 04:52 PM
Admiral

Hi Paul :

I don't play any instruments .However ,back in the late 60's to early 70's I was reviewing music for a record company before the LP's were distributed .
I've met a lot of singers /musicians over the years ,some before they became famous .

I always believed that society termed "hippie " although I considered myself to be one .
Old March 25th, 2010, 11:08 AM
Admiral

March 25 :

Aretha Franklin is 68