Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > Cruise Lines (Mainstream) > Cunard
Register Forgot Password?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old August 31st, 2004, 08:46 AM
GALEX

Default New to Cunard?

Hello
I am new to Cunard and would like to try a short cruise on Cunard. I am looking in to the Independence Day cruise of 4 days from nyc for 2005. Can anyone tell me if they have fromal night on this short cruise? Do they have the regular things to do like if it were a transatlantic cruise or any other cruise? How formal is formal night on Cunard compared to other cruise lines? Any other recommedations for someone who is new to Cunard but has done others. Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Old August 31st, 2004, 11:12 AM
Yeoman

Send a message via MSN to lexxity
Default Re: New to Cunard?

in answer to your question about how formal, i would say very. Tuxedos and eveing gown for formal, dark suit and dressy cocktail attire for informal and no jeans on casual. They are really strict in the restaurants about the dress code. The dress codes really do lend themselves to the ship, you don't ever feel overdressed onboard. the atmosphere is very elegant, yet fun as well. You will love it.

Queen Elizabeth 2 - Trans-Atlantic 2001
Queen Mary 2 - Caribbean - 2004
Queen Mary 2 - Mediterranean - 2004

QM2 Transatlantic
QE2 40th Anniversary Round Britain Cruise.
Old August 31st, 2004, 02:59 PM
CruisingBryan

Actually, on the QE 2 in 2003 we were horrified to see very casual dress allowed in the caronia dining room at dinner. Previously, the maitre d' would have intercepted such folks at the entry foyer, but on this cruise they didn't seem to care.....a pity as it reflects on those people who take the time and effort to dress nicely, particularly the ladies.
Old August 31st, 2004, 08:34 PM
Passenger

Send a message via Yahoo to DocM1
Default Re: Re: New to Cunard?