Go Back   CruiseMates Cruise Community and Forums > People > Disabled Cruisers
Register Forgot Password?

Disabled Cruisers Discuss issues concerning disabled cruisers.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old January 26th, 2003, 02:27 PM
Passenger

Default Celebrity Century.....

Our friends are seriously considering coming with us on our November Cruise on the Century to the Western Caribbean!
This is my childhood friend and her hubby ,they are both wheelchair bound permanently and cannot stand at all.
They usually have problems with handicapped rooms being designed for one wheelchair to move around in not two .
As they are coming in from the UK so they won't be bringing thier 'electric wheelchairs' and will be in 'normal wheelchairs'

Also does anyone know what ports they tender to on this trip if any ?
Any help with what trips are ok with 2 chairs?
We do have to be careful of the heat as John cannot control his body temp too well .
(I am a nurse so I can help with many things they need.)

Any advice would be helpful to try to make things easier for them.
It takes John at least 2 hours to get ready in the morning and the one thing we worry about is when they have the early calls for Immigration on the ship, any thoughts on that?

Thanks In advance
Sponsored Links
Old January 27th, 2003, 03:25 PM
Vladimir Drobashevsky

Default Re: Celebrity Century.....

Hi Lizzie,
In regards to your two friends and the Western Cruise,
wife and I took the Western on Christmas 2001, On Grand Princess. I think different
cruise lines have different itineraries, but ours did have ONE tender at Grand Cayman Island. The sea was reasonably calm, so the crew did not have long faces, when I
appeared with my "Mother Superior" in the wheelchair and in no time we were ashore shopping at accessible stores. We, generaly, plan our own shore trips, one reason is,